Chasing Miles and Memories: A Morning Run with My Kid"

My legs felt like lead this morning, probably because I just started running three days ago. Instead of pushing through my planned mileage, I decided to cut it short and enjoy some time outside with my kid while he rode his bike. I still managed to get 2 miles in, although they were a bit faster than I intended since I was chasing him downhill. But he had a great time, and I didn't mind the extra effort.

PXL_20240704_143401365.jpgPXL_20240704_143050267.jpgPXL_20240704_145533055.jpg
Before The RunMy Bright ShoesAfter The Run

I know I said I had fun, but the before and after pictures don’t exactly show it. I promise, though, I really did enjoy myself! My kid looked way more comfortable at the end than I did.

PXL_20240704_143631588.MP.jpgPXL_20240704_143742531.jpg
Getting StartRacing up the RoadZooming around the Corner

My oldest boy has become really good at riding his bike. For a 5-year-old, I'm quite impressed with his endurance and ability to ride long distances and tackle uphill climbs.

My plan is to get at least two more runs in this week and hit a total of 16 miles, all while keeping a close eye on my left calf. I've read that it's common for our calves to send false warning signals when coming back from a strain. Regardless, I'll monitor it closely and start working on my calf flexibility and strength.

I'm aiming to hit my goal and then push for over 20 miles next week. I also want to start running twice a day. Even though it's usually recommended to wait until your single runs are longer, I think starting now will help me develop the habit of making time for two daily workouts and get my body used to the extra exercise.

july 4th.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center