My Best Childhood Memory

I have always loved fashion since I became Mama's girl, I appreciate it and there's nothing I loved the most than going shopping, getting all dressed up like a beautiful doll. Fashion reflects one's personality and I love it when I'm complimented upon, for my great sense of it. My best childhood memory revolves around it.

I was eight and it was Christmas season, I just adored Christmases because of the entire atmosphere of joy that surrounds it, and family tradition demands that we go shopping for special clothes two weeks before the D-Day. And my understanding of what Christmas was then, was the season of buying clothes, shoes and accessories, and then going out with my friends to show off what we were wearing, and then lots to eat and drink. It was simply so much fun I must say.

Then Mom took me along to our market, it was bustling and it was like everyone I knew, was there also for shopping. Then a stunning blue dress, delicately embroidered, caught my eye, "That's my Christmas dress", I shouted in excitement. That was the most beautiful dress I had ever set my eyes on, Mom agreed with me and it was a perfect fit. Mom bought it without any hesitation at all.

Early morning on Christmas day, I donned my beautiful dress and twirled in front of the mirror, I felt like a princess but soon after, I started feeling some discomfort and when I couldn't bear the itching on my skin, I ran to Mama. The dye on the dress was running and my skin was turning a pale blue.

My Christmas was ruined! I wept and rolled on the floor, everybody was upset. My parents knew that they had to remedy the situation for peace to reign.
Dad rushed to the City's Superstore because they were the only ones opened on that day, and bought me two dresses ( he bought two because he wasn't sure of my size and because of the exigency of the moment), so instead of one Christmas dress, I got two, far beyond our usual means but I didn't care....lols. I had my Christmas dress(es) and that was what was important.

I was met with gasps and awe of admiration for the rest of that day, I became the belle of the ball everywhere I went, a true princess and I felt so.

The photo is mine.

Thank you @indiaunited for this contest and helping small accounts like mine, grow. 😊

You can be a part of the contest here

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency