Auto and Indoor Update


logo3.png


banner 3.png

Good morning growing enthusiasts! It's been a little over a month since I've updated on the indoor and I also forgot to give you the final shots of the auto's I did in my garden. Today will be a rather longer blog than usual and my first post on Peakd as I have been having problems with ecency lately.

Today is a special blog (to me anyway)! Something crazy is happening in the grow room!....

But first we will wrap up the auto's.... Last update here I talked about taking the Shaggy Dick. That plant got a little mold in the middle of the cola bud bud the rest of the plant was salvageable.


You can see the cola on the Shaggy Dick looks like it has a piece missing. That was where the bud rot was forming but was nixed. The trich's looked really good when cured.

The total weight of the Shaggy Dick was not recorded due to my wife breaking into the buds before I could get a total. I wasn't upset at her as she was just as excited to try some new stuff after smoking on our last years outdoor for so long!

The high was very intense and after smoking a blunt I was still high hours later!

Now let's finish the Lemon Skunk Auto, both strains was from Horseshoe Genetics.

20230825_135406.jpg

This is the Lemon Skunk auto. She was about three and a half feet tall and was ready to take her turn in harvest!

20230825_135400.jpg

These auto's were grown in my veggie garden with little respect. The only thing they got was a limited amount of Mittleider nutrients.

Trimming this beauty my cat Stormy was very interested in the new smells. He was helping me trim by eating some leaves off the plant as I trimmed it up!


20230826_004036.jpg

After trimming it up.....

20230826_121158.jpg

After letting it hang a few weeks in a temperature and humidity controlled room, it goes into my glass jars for curing. After a couple weeks of burping the jars twice a day, I weighed the buds. This plant produced 78 grams. Not bad for an auto.

Time for the smoke test!...


It had a rather pungent smell to it and the taste was a bit fruity. The smoke was smooth and had a heady effect after smoking. I'm not fond of auto's but these got me a little more comfortable with them. I will most likely grow autos again.

20230916_232203.jpg

That wraps up the auto's, now let's get into the indoor which have made for a huge surprise to my 30 plus years of growing experience!

Last update (above link) we talked about bending and setting the first scrog net. The plants grew for about 7 to 10 days before the second net went on.

20230813_202346.jpg

20230818_141210.jpg

20230818_141229.jpg

This year I cut the upright supports that connects the two scrogs together from 12 inches to 8 inches.


Last year's grow the second net was a bit too high so I decided to cut 4 inches off. During this 7 to 10 days is when I do my lollipopping under the first scrog. Anything that doesn't reach the first scrog with in that time gets chopped off. Every branch and node site gets plucked away.


20230819_133644.jpg

After the second scrog went on I made sure to pull any taller branches through the holes directly above them and continued with the lollipopping.


20230819_142235.jpg

This 👆 is what it looks like from the top after the second scrog was put on. After the three weeks of their growth spurt I raise the lights and finish all the lollipopping.

20230824_134608.jpg

After a couple of weeks the buds are starting to form and are looking really good. I didn't notice at this time which you can kinda see in the picture above, the buds started to do something I have never seen before. Can you see it?.....

20230824_134633.jpg

The hairs looked a little different this time around.....


The tips are starting to turn white... WTH!

20230904_155823.jpg

divider 1.png

20230904_155832.jpg

I have never seen anything like this. Over the next couple of weeks they started to really show the white color....

20230914_135830.jpg

Did I do something wrong?? Was my light too intense?? These questions ran through my mind and thinking I messed up this grow, I did a little research which led me to this blog site which states it could be good or it could be bad. https://www.royalqueenseeds.com/us/blog-find-out-why-white-tipped-buds-could-mean-more-trichomes-n1318

If the bad can be ruled out then it has to be good, right? The bad would be stress, lack of nutrients or bleaching. I haven't done anything to stress them so that's out. I give the same nutrients that I have always given to my indoor, so nutrients is out and now to deal with the possibility of bleaching.

Bleaching starts to occur when your light intensity starts to get over 80k LUX as seen by this chart....

luxchart.png

With my light meter I checked what the tallest branch was getting for lux and as you can see I'm way under what it would be for bleaching...

20230915_114427.jpg

My temperature is 79 degrees fahrenheit so other than lowering my temps a little, I didn't see any problems there. So with that I'm leaning more towards the good! Which the good, according to the blog will have enhanced trichomes and terpenes. "Sometimes the phenomenon indicates huge levels of desirable phytochemicals such as cannabinoids and terpenes."

This is exciting as this has never happened before as it gives me another chance to learn something new about growing this magnificent plant!

20230914_135817.jpg

This 👆 is under my 750w Kind led. Notice the tops!

20230916_115629.jpg

This one 👆 is under my 1000w Kind led. Check out how white those are. It's hard to see the true beauty of the color under these lights so I had to take some pictures under normal light...


divider 1.png

20230915_235335.jpg

20230915_235326.jpg

divider 1.png

20230915_235319.jpg

20230915_235301.jpg

These pictures below are from yesterday morning after their watering...

20230916_115609.jpg

20230916_115629.jpg

You can see the rest of the tops are starting to get the white color to them as well.

20230916_115656.jpg

If you recall in one of my earlier posts here I talked about how my friend has his own testing machine which tests for many different chemicals produced. Well, I will definitely test this grow with his machine and post the results on Hive! Hopefully I get good news with the testing!

These plants have around 3 to 4 more weeks of growth so it won't be long before I can harvest and get the results.

Well that's gonna wrap up this blog and I hope you guys enjoyed the update! Let me know your thoughts on the white buds in the comments!

Until next time, keep growing my friends!

Peace ✌️

logo2.png

banner 2.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center