Sunrise at Mt. Kan-irag Campsite

Note: All photos are best viewed on mobile. I guess.

Hello everyone!

Let me insert this photography-related content before I continue with my Coron series. I'm still trying to figure out what to post next in that series. I also got distracted with having a list of all my content here in Hive since I started blogging. I uploaded 388 blogs (not including this post) already and 26 of them are photography-related. I'm proud of being an amateur forever in this craft. In those 26 posts, I noticed that most are sunset and beaches related. I wanted to add something new to the mix so I looked at my reserves and found this content. It's sunrise and a campsite in the mountain stuff, so I liked them to be added to my growing list. Here we go!

I've always wanted to try night photography, but during that time we had a camp, I wasn't able to bring my tripod. I took some photos with a makeshift tripod, but the photos turned out to be so horrible. It's either because of the lack of a tripod or I'm getting terrible at my photography skills. I just woke early to take some photos before sunrise and the first one I took using my camera was the photo above. It was still dark, but the mountain structures can already be seen, so I took advantage of that.


As the sun slowly rises, more and more details emerge, but the city could not be clearly seen in the photos above. Mt. Kan-irag campsite is actually overlooking Metropolitan Cebu, but maybe because of the fog or haze that it's not very clear. Also, the sun is directly in the frame causing overexposure.


It was my first time having an overnight camp at Mt. Kan-irag. Directly above it is Sirao Peak which I visited and blogged about a long time ago. I was amazed to see such a well-maintained campsite and it's surprisingly famous to campers. The site is almost full of campers. I just find it really interesting that a lot of campers are Gen Zs. It's understandable that the millennials are really into camping, but the new breeds are also into camping? I thought they were more into TikToks and parties. Anyway, it's just me and prejudice.


Of course, my friends never missed having their photos taken. It was an awesome sunrise after all. It rained the night before and the wind was a little bit stronger than usual, but the morning after was awesome. It was cold, but I loved it. It was also the first time I had an overnight camp after about two years. The pandemic prevented us from camping. Good thing now we are able to do so.

The last two photos are I think the best ones I have in this bunch. I already shared them in my other account, but let me just share them here. I think they really captured the essence of camping at that moment. All in all, I had so much fun connecting with my hiking friends and it was also the time for me to unwind and connect with nature.

I guess that's all for this post! See you at the next one. I hope I can upload Coron's Twin Lagoon soon.

Kim Ybañez

Welcome to Kim's small corner in Hive. He is a chemical engineer by profession, but a blogger by passion. He is a wanderlust and an adventure seeker. Join his quests as he visits secluded destinations, climbs mountains, tries new and exotic dishes, and explores his country (The Philippines). He's also a trying hard photographer so stay tuned as he shares his photos and his thought process while creating them.

If you like his content, don't forget to upvote and leave a comment to show some love. You can also reblog if you want to. Also, don't forget to follow him to be updated with his latest posts.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center