At least I had a good time

I developed my first black and white photograph in the school's darkroom in 1988. Ever since I have a long lasting but also miscellaneous and some times turbulent relationship with photography. It started as a teenager's thrill, it become a bachelor's degree as well as a source of income during my studies, to evolve to a very well paid profession. But in the way the joy and the passion of taking pictures was sidelined by the responsibility of running a demanding business. It was an era that I was annoyed if a friend was asking me to take a picture on a holiday or on a trip. I usually went for vacation without a camera at all and even if I did take a camera with me I used it very sporadically.

That was the case when I visited New York city 12 years ago. It was only when I started blogging here, that I rediscovered the joy of taking pictures and reinvented my photographic identity. If I had spent now, 3 weeks in Manhattan I would probably have pictures for dozens of posts but back then I hardly took the camera out of the hotel room. I took some nice pictures at the Central Park and to a walk from Times Square to Brooklyn Bridge (you can see the relevant posts here and here) but along with the shots I included today, that is pretty much all the keepers from the trip. A rather slender outcome for more than 20 days in the most impressive city of the world!

But at least I had a good time :)


_MG_7658.jpg

The Grand Central Terminal, as impressive as it can get!

_MG_7646.jpg

_MG_7588.jpg

The Guggenheim museum, a true landmark of NYC!

_MG_7602.jpg

_MG_7604.jpg

_MG_7595.jpg

_MG_7384.jpg

_MG_7438.jpg

_MG_7437.jpg

_MG_7529.jpg

_MG_7530.jpg

_MG_7531.jpg

_MG_7300.jpg

_MG_7618.jpg

_MG_7639.jpg

_MG_7620.jpg

_MG_7633.jpg

The last picture is for @traisto, she knows why :)

_MG_7709.jpg


All the pictures and the words are mine.

Thank you for reading and if you want to know more about me you can check out my introduction post.

Commenting, upvoting and rebloging are highly appreciated!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now