Shake it Out

feet.jpeg

new-hr.png

So not much writing and posting transpiring at the moment but it's because my focus has been on stability and new horizons. Which don't seem to go together but can't be separated in times like these.

We took a road-trip, yesterday, to check out some possible new accommodation on some farms that felt like they were a million miles away in the old Datsun. No aircon, never heard of central locking back to the future good ol' days, no power-steering and my leg muscles are getting good and strong with that springless clutch situation.

Still the car handled fine and I received more smiles, more random passing hoots and waves, another offer to purchase and had another cool conversation with yet another cool bunch of guys when we stopped to get more petrol. They were the petrol attendants, to be clear.

Yep. We still have folks serving us all over the place out here in South Africa. Lucky us.

And more petrol because we got lost on off the map farm roads, and never actually arrived at our intended destinations, because the directions weren't so clear and we weren't clear on our direction.

small-hr.png

viewdrive.jpg

small-hr.png

Hey ho... still another conversation, with a police officer, when we went through a roadblock.

"You like my car." I smiled, as he handed me back my temporary driver's license.

He'd been looking up and down the length of the vehicle and at me a bit curiously while he checked to see I wasn't being naughty. "Yes." he kinda blushed, as he asnwered, and he told me his story about his Datsun and the good memories he had from his youth.

This is the best part about the car, by the way.

The connection.

Because that is what this make and model creates.

small-hr.png

badass.jpg


badass2.jpg

small-hr.png

Datsun has a ton of history in South Africa and is still crazy popular among those in the know. And apparently in Zimbabwe as well.

I know this, now, because a mechanic I saw who was working on a car in someone's driveway, and who I stopped to try and rope in to helping me fix it up, also smiled and told me his story about his Datsun way back when.

And so it goes. And goes.

If you know what you're seeing when you see the car.

Of course... if you're a bit of a spoiled git, you'd have no idea exactly how valuable it really is. And not in a money kinda way. In a this is some of our history kinda way. Of we the people.

But perhaps that's why some folks around here just don't "get it" in the first place.

 

Yeah I'm going on about the car... because this is much more than just about the car if you know about South Africa at all.

But you may be suspecting that I tend to go a liddle bit deeper by now.

small-hr.png

green.jpg

small-hr.png

Anyhoo... it was a trip that I can't afford Fuck me petrol is expensive now but was almost worth the sense of freedom and adventure, and the time with Nathan away from the many screens, that I've sorely missed for some time now.

In fact... life being what it is and how it goes...

of course it was fuckin' worth it!

small-hr.png

20240108_142657.jpeg

small-hr.png


trip.gif


stone.jpg


stones2.jpg


disc.jpg


practice.jpg


bust2.jpg


bust.jpg


women2.jpg


women.jpg


bicycle.jpg


hitnotes.jpg

small-hr.png


naked.jpg


surprose.jpg


space.jpg


new.jpg


hope.jpg


man.jpg


understanding.jpg


2.jpeg


bread.jpeg


1.jpeg

small-hr.png

And for a #ThreeTuneTuesday that I finally get to participate in again (although the tunes haven't stopped on either side, I'm sure)...

one more bangin' one for @ablaze - the founder of the superb initiative - because I know he also still likes dem beats as much as I do.

I'm dancing every day, Daddio. I hope you get up and have a boogie too.

 

small-hr.png

Never stop the dance!

It really does keep you travelin' light! 💜

sb-hr-2.png

Eternal Seeker
Hardened Dreamer
Mother
Peaceful Warrior
Determined Dancer
and Stargazer

still...

Beyond fear is freedom

And there is nothing to be afraid of.

To Life, with Love... and always for Truth!
Nicky Dee

www.mettame.art

sb-hr-2.png

All images my own for this one. Shots taken from Coffee Magazine and on the road trip(s).

Video created with Blender.

Gif created with EZgif.

Photo editing done with GIMP.

 

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center