My Minimalist Make Up Collection - 12 Essentials

Summer Travel Photo Collage(14).png

Keeping it simple

Have you ever seen people with a huge bag of makeup collections? I did. At some point in life, I was working in the costume and make-up department during the theater days. I still don’t know how others can collect a lot of make-up but it was kinda making sense since the job requires us to be that way. But for those who are not into make-up, it is still absurd to me to have a gigantic box filled with things that we may never use. On the other hand, not having make-up as a girl, I was often asked why I was barefaced. It was a practical life to me and I liked it that way. But over time, I softened up a bit. I started caring about how I look. So, I started listing all the products that I really need and essentials. I didn’t know what was good for me before but overtime, I learned that I could survive with only about 10-12 essentials. And here is my minimalist makeup collection.

A simple skin care

20220309_173135-01.jpeg

In my daily life, I rely a lot on foaming wash, serum, and sunscreen in the morning. Then, during the night, it’s mostly just foaming wash, serum, and a night cream that claims to have a blue light protection. If I want extra care for my skin, I can go to a beauty salon and have facial and eye treatment. Even when I travel, I tend to find a favorite spot where I can do it.

Effortless Look

20220309_173217-02.jpeg

Though I like seeing people with heavy make up, I always prefer an effortless look. It suits me more because having too much on my face makes me look like a clown. So, after my skin care routine, I apply a bb cream with spf,powder foundation, and blush(rarely). Depending on the occasion, I keep an eye shadow handy just in case I have to attend a friend's wedding or something formal.

No sweat eye-makeup

20220309_173253-01.jpeg

I naturally have a dark eye-brow that even when I try to give it a shade of brown, they won’t appear much. So, I rarely use them. The same thing with eye lashes where I just curl them without giving it any lashes.

Smooth Lip Care

20220309_173311-01.jpeg

To complete the look, I usually use lip balm and one color of lipstick. I usually skip the eye-makeup and just go straight to the lip care. If I am feeling splurging, I would get another shade. Brands for me somewhat matters, I generally stick to one brand or two and rarely being experimental.


Having a minimal skin and make-up kit helps a lot during traveling. Since usually, there’s a limit of the max liquid, the minimal it is, the better. I also don’t generally buy any bigger size and opt for travel sizes. Since I don’t indulge in cosmetics, I managed to save up some money which is another plus thing about this. Not to mention, As I do minimal and only keeping the essentials, I rarely get horrible pimples. I often read that it’s also better for the skin to experience some make-up free days or even minimal exposure to chemicals. Do you keep your make-up/skin-care routine simple too?

If you want to read my minimalism journey, you can find some of them here. Some gems are also here :

📎 Am I Still A Minimalist?

📎 How Minimalism Has Helped Me Getting My Sh*t Together

📎 Update on my Minimalist lifestyle

📎 Saturday Decluttering

📎 Minimalism and Travel

thumbnail.jpg

Mac's Pinmapple Travel List

thumbnail.jpg

Don't hesitate to upvote for more content like this !


image.pngMac is a jack of all trades. A typical introvert in love with literature, books, technology and philosophy. She is also so into nootropics, productivity, minimalist lifestyle, cybersecurity, and languages. Other than that, she is passionate about cooking and traveling. In her free time, she enjoys learning various things. If you like her content, don't hesitate to upvote, leave a comment or a feedback. A re-blog is also appreciated.
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center