TTT - Echo & the Bunnymen

Hello music lovers! 🎵

It's Tuesday, time for #threetunetuesday, and a chance for me to share something I'm listening to.
My last post here was a week ago, and continuing with the music, I'm recalling memories from the past together with you.

Today I'm back in the 1980s, I'm listening to a band that, just as in my earlier posts, (Morphine, The God Machine, Modern Lovers, New Model Army), brought something new to my youth music group in those days, which is why we followed them afterwards.

Echo & the Bunnymen is an English rock band from Liverpool, formed in 1978. They have released thirteen studio albums and several compilations. Their first album, 1980's Crocodile, caught the attention of music critics, and their second album, 1981's Heaven Up Here, brought them to the attention of the public and the charts. From cult status, they broke onto the global scene with their third album, Porcupine in 1983, when they also achieved their biggest ever success at number 2 on the Top 10 UK Albums chart. They've had their ups and downs, changed members, disbanded in 1993, re-emerged in 1996, and are still playing their music today. A bit older but still.

Echo & the Bunnymen are part of the English New Wave and are probably one of the first post-punk bands. At a time when punk still ruled in England with the Sex Pistols, Clash, The Stranglers, and many others, they were inspired by the darker music of the Velvet Underground and The Doors. Some also place them in the first goth wave like the Cocteau Twins, Siouxsie, Birthday Party, and the Misfits. The combination of playing two guitars and other instruments as needed, the complex lyricism, and the dark, actually unhappy worldview also places them somewhere at the beginning of EMO music.

🎵 🎧 🎤

For those of you who are not (yet) familiar with #threetunetuesday or #ttt - these are tags you need to set when you post.
It's a music initiative started by @ablaze, and with his words, the jist is as follows:

Every Tuesday I'm going to share 3 songs that I like to listen to and I invite your feedback in the comments below. Better still, why not have a blast of your own Three Tune Tuesday and mention me in the post and I'll come and find the post and upvote it. If you could also use #threetunetuesday tag that would be great, as that is what I use when sifting through all the entries every Wednesday. It'll be a sweet way for us all to discover new music. You'll also be in with a chance of winning the reward.

🎵 🎧 🎤

So, to continue with the music, I've picked out a few clips.

Echo & the Bunnymen - Rescue

The song Rescue is from the first album Crocodiles from 1981, also released as a single. I chose this live recording, I think it's still pretty good to show the nature of this band. The interplay of two guitars with sharp short riffs that sting and are played based on a simple rhythm (they usually used a drummer and a rhythm machine but all together minimalist) and a swinging bass guitar.
This was also the first song I heard from this band and it has stayed in my memory ever since. The lyrics are typical of the first EMO bands, and Ian McCullough, the frontman, isn't quite sure if he's lost and would like to be saved, like a soul that has just died, still in the space between the living and the inanimate.

🎵 🎧 🎤

Echo & The Bunnymen - The Killing Moon

The song is from the fourth album Ocean Rain from 1984. It was also released as a single, probably their biggest success, and was well received by the public and music critics, who described it as "extremely elegant and musically rich". It was later used in the film Donnie Darko (OST) and this clip is from the movie.

🎵 🎧 🎤

Echo & The Bunnymen - Never Stop (Discotheque)

The song Never Stop was the single for their third album Porcupine from 1983. It was later remixed and released on CD in 2003. I like it because it has an interesting musical structure, a bit of a twist from their standard style, a simple dance beat, and a mix of guitars and electronic instruments it was popular in electronic music clubs.

🎵 🎧 🎤

And, for a bonus :)

Echo & The Bunnymen - Lips Like Sugar

Official video for Lips Like Sugar, also popular song at the time, from the fifth Echo And Bunnymen album, 1987. The song leans towards sugary pop, but the guitars save it (again) and I'm sure it will remain in the collective musical memory.

That's all for today, thank you for your attention. I hope today's selection was interesting and put you in a relaxed mood like it did me :)

🎵 🎧 🎤

This is my 35th post for #threetunetuesday, which was started by @ablaze. I hope what I'm sharing is interesting for others too, because then it makes sense.

If you're curious about the latest music, follow me on #newtunes, or take a look at my rare recordings at 3speak channel - video, or Seckorama's Music Podcast - audio.

The front image is mine, created in Night Cafe Studio and edited in Photoshop.

Music4life!

🎵 🎧 🎤

Stay Healthy!
logosecko.gif

NFT Showroom Gallery
My 3Speak Channel
Photo Manipulation
Beer Tasting
New Tunes
Foodies

Ready for Web3
hive_nft_200x200.gif

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
12 Comments
Ecency