MUSIC: Three Tune Tuesday 78 - 3 Songs About "Friday"! (2 Covers + 1 Original!)


Hello everybody on HIVE, and especially the Music Community. My name is Jasper and I'm writing (and singing) to you from Cape Town, South Africa.

This is my 13th week contributing to "Three Tunes Tuesday", started by @ablaze. It is week 78 overall!

I am trying to stick to a set pattern, where I perform 2 cover songs (written by famous artists) and 1 original song (written by me) around a theme. This week I've chosen the theme of Songs about “Friday”!

Oh boy you know where I'm going with this!

For the first cover song I'm going to start with "Friday" by Rebecca Black. Rebecca Black was 13 years old when she and her parents went to a music factory who promised to write her a hit song. What they released onto Youtube in early 2011 had a catchy 4 chord structure, but the lyrics were mostly hashed-out gibberish and there was so much autotune on Rebecca Black's vocals that you cannot tell whether she can actually sing or not (apparently she can!). The video wasn't much better, with Rebecca and her 13 year old friends driving cars and going to parties more suited to university age... it didn't help that the adult songwriter shows up to do a rap cameo like a pedophile at this otherwise children's party!

Here is a video of the original:

As you can see, not exactly the best song or video in the world, but poor 13 year old Rebecca Black was subjected to a lot of online bullying.

What was quite sweet was that Katy Perry decided to cast Rebecca Black as the "cool kid next door" in her music video for "Last Friday Night (TGIF)" that was released later in 2011. So Rebecca Black got to be in a REAL music video with a pop-star afterall!

Here is a video of that song:

Finally, my song is called "Every Friday Night"! I refer to it as my "High school musical" song, as it deals with the teenage angst of a boy gathering the courage to ask a girl to dance! It uses an alternative tuning called DADGAD, so please excuse the minute in the video where I am retuning the guitar! Sorry!

A lot of people assume that alternative guitar tunings are best left to the masters but that is not true at all! They are often easier than standard! If you want to play around on your guitar and see if you enjoy it, please read my post here to help you!

@jasperdick/music-live-original-and-cover

Before I go: Please look out for my weekly cover request post on Thursday! If you make a song request in the comments, and then I attempt the song, you get rewarded with 50% of that post's rewards in HP! Please have a think about what song you would like me to tackle for you?

Lyrics for "Every Friday Night" by @jasperdick (original)

Here I stand against the wall again
Here I stand, I'm terrified again
It's the same thing every friday night
I'm wondering if the words will come out right...
Oh girl...
Do you want to dance with me, do you want to dance with me tonight?
Do you want to dance with me, do you want to dance with me tonight?
I hope you do!

It's the same girl since we started high school
She's gorgeous, she's funny and she's cool
Yes I know, I know that she's my friend
But feelings grow, and now I can't pretend...
Oh no girl...
Do you want to dance with me, do you want to dance with me tonight?
Do you want to dance with me, do you want to dance with me tonight?
I hope you do!

Can you see me standing here? Do you even know I care for you?
Do you want to dance with me, do you want to dance with me tonight?
Do you want to dance with me, do you want to dance with me tonight?
I hope you do!


▶️ 3Speak

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency