HIVE MUSIC FESTIVAL Week 6 Third Round (ENG-ESP): "The Greens" (Original, but with apologies...)


(Traducción al español al final del post)

Hello everybody on HIVE, and especially the Music Community. My name is Jasper and I'm writing (and singing) to you from Cape Town, South Africa!

Welcome to Week 6 / Round 3 of the Hive Music Festival! A massive thank you to @edwardstobia for keeping the Hive Music Festival going! It is a great platform for somebody like me to share some music!

I am going to continue to use this opportunity to share my own original songs! (I love playing covers, but I have HIVE Open Mic, Three Tunes Tuesday (I play them myself), and my own initiative where I take cover requests on Thursdays to do that, so please follow me to see if you’d like to see me tackle songs by other artists?)

I should make a disclaimer that today’s song is probably the LEAST original of the original songs I have written so far! I was chatting with @itzchemaya on one of her posts, and she said she would love to see me tackle some blues or jazz as those are her favourite genres of music… So I thought I would share this fun song I have written, and I hope SHE enjoys it at least! Haha!:

So, the story behind this song is that I wrote it (and a few others) to entertain my baby daughter Madison, and I have borrowed a lot from other famous artists!

The music structure is an exact copy of the blues standard "Hoochie Coochie Man" by Muddy Waters. Here's a link to that:

And then the theme of the song? Well, I'm afraid I must pay homage to the great cartoonist Gary Larson and his "Far Side Comics", and in particular this one as shared on pinterest by Gail Winscott:

https://za.pinterest.com/pin/294774738080473960/

If you click on the link, you will see Gary Larson's wonderful comic of a band made up of frogs. Instead of singing the blues, they are singing "The Greens!" Because we have a lovely stuffed toy frog called "Padda" (the Afrikaans word for frog) - I thought I would expand on that idea and think up some reasons for why a frog might have "The Greens" to entertain my girl when she is a toddler and old enough to understand the joke!

Funny enough, I actually play this song on stage quite often now to put some lightness in between more serious songs! It is supposed to be a fun song full of jokes!

And @itzchemaya, if you don’t like this one… I do have a couple more songs that have some blues elements to them – so I will keep trying!

Before I go: Please look out for my weekly cover request post on Thursday! If you make a song request in the comments, and then I attempt the song, you get rewarded with 50% of that post's rewards in HP! Please have a think about what song you would like me to tackle for you?

Lyrics for "The Greens" by Jasper Dick (with apologies to Muddy Waters and Gary Larson)

When I was a tadpole, back in 1985
My momma told me I'd be the greatest frog alive
But now I'm starving 'coz I haven't caught a fly
The rain's not falling and the pond is going dry!
I got the Greens, I got the Greens so bad...
I can't even remember all the nice mosquitos I've had...
My baby left my lily pad, she found some other bloke
I don't know what charm he had, besides a deeper croak...
When I go down to the water, I have to check and see
That there ain't some crazy otter, making eyes at me...
I got the Greens, I got the Greens so bad...
I can't even remember all the nice mosquitos I've had...
When I was a tadpole, some children caught my brother (in a jar)
And even more traumatic, some Frenchman ate my mother!
Then I was a polywog, and that's a painful puberty
Now I'm a full grown frog and there's a heron stalking me...
But not on facebook mama, I got the Greens so bad...
I can't even remember all the nice mosquitos (all the ni-ice mosquitos) I've had...

Hola a todos en HIVE, y especialmente a la Comunidad Musical. Me llamo Jasper y os escribo (y canto) desde Ciudad del Cabo, Sudáfrica.

¡Bienvenidos a la Semana 6 / Ronda 3 del Festival de Música Hive! ¡Un enorme agradecimiento a @edwardstobia por mantener el Hive Music Festival en marcha! ¡Es una gran plataforma para alguien como yo para compartir algo de música!

¡Voy a seguir utilizando esta oportunidad para compartir mis propias canciones originales! (Me encanta tocar covers, pero tengo el Open Mic de HIVE, el martes de tres melodías (las toco yo mismo), y mi propia iniciativa donde acepto peticiones de covers los jueves para hacerlo, así que por favor síganme para ver si quieren verme abordar canciones de otros artistas...)

Debo advertir que la canción de hoy es probablemente la menos original de las que he escrito hasta ahora. Estaba charlando con @itzchemaya en uno de sus posts, y me dijo que le encantaría verme abordar algo de blues o jazz, ya que son sus géneros musicales favoritos... Así que pensé en compartir esta divertida canción que he escrito, ¡y espero que ELLA la disfrute al menos! Jaja!:

La historia detrás de esta canción es que la escribí (y algunas otras) para entretener a mi hija Madison, ¡y he tomado mucho de otros artistas famosos!

La estructura musical es una copia exacta del estándar de blues "Hoochie Coochie Man" de Muddy Waters. Aquí hay un enlace a eso:

¿Y el tema de la canción? Bueno, me temo que debo rendir homenaje al gran dibujante Gary Larson y sus "Far Side Comics", y en particular a este que compartió en pinterest Gail Winscott:

https://za.pinterest.com/pin/294774738080473960/

Si haces clic en el enlace, verás el maravilloso cómic de Gary Larson sobre una banda formada por ranas. En lugar de cantar el blues, cantan "Los Verdes". Como tenemos una adorable rana de peluche llamada "Padda" (la palabra afrikáans para designar a la rana), pensé en ampliar la idea y pensar en algunas razones por las que una rana podría tener "Los Verdes" para entretener a mi niña cuando sea pequeña y tenga la edad suficiente para entender el chiste.

Es curioso, pero ahora toco esta canción en el escenario con bastante frecuencia para poner un poco de ligereza entre canciones más serias. Se supone que es una canción divertida y llena de bromas.

Y @itzchemaya, si no te gusta ésta... tengo un par de canciones más que tienen algunos elementos de blues - ¡así que seguiré intentándolo!

Antes de irme: ¡Por favor, estad atentos a mi post semanal de peticiones de covers el jueves! Si haces una petición de canción en los comentarios, y luego intento la canción, ¡te recompensaré con el 50% de las recompensas de ese post en HP! Por favor, pensad en qué canción os gustaría que hiciera para vosotros.

Letra de "The Greens" de Jasper Dick (con disculpas a Muddy Waters y Gary Larson)

*Cuando era un renacuajo, en 1985
Mi madre me dijo que sería la mejor rana del mundo
Pero ahora me muero de hambre porque no he cazado ni una mosca
La lluvia no cae y el estanque se está secando.
Tengo los verdes, tengo los verdes tan malos...
Ni siquiera puedo recordar todos los buenos mosquitos que he tenido...
Mi nena dejó mi nenúfar, encontró a otro tipo
No sé qué encanto tenía, además de un graznido más profundo...
Cuando bajo al agua, tengo que comprobar y ver
Que no hay una nutria loca, haciéndome ojitos...
Tengo los verdes, tengo los verdes tan mal...
Ni siquiera puedo recordar todos los buenos mosquitos que he tenido...
Cuando era un renacuajo, unos niños cogieron a mi hermano (en un frasco)
Y aún más traumático, ¡un francés se comió a mi madre!
Luego fui un poliédrico, y esa es una pubertad dolorosa
Ahora soy una rana adulta y hay una garza que me acecha...
Pero no en facebook mamá, tengo los verdes tan mal...
Ya ni me acuerdo de todos los mosquitos buenos (todos los ni-ice) que he tenido...

Traducción realizada con la versión gratuita del traductor www.DeepL.com/Translator


▶️ 3Speak

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
11 Comments
Ecency