Deeann D. Mathews A Cappella Singing On Hive, Volume 2: Hymns (mostly)

For @sekani -- most of the time I sing in @hiveopenmic and a few other communities as well, and so here is a collection of hymns I have sung there, with what each hymn means and means to me.

[//]: #1 @deeanndmathews/fxfpqhnd
Both the Negro Spiritual and this beloved hymn pick up something that is written in Scripture: "The way of the wise goes upward, that he may depart from hell beneath." This hymn describes the journey of the saint toward heaven, in beautifully picturesque terms ... I remember my elders singing this, and as I continue my own walk with the Lord, "my faith has caught a joyful sound -- the song of saints on higher ground!"

[//]: #2 @deeanndmathews/sjbkmxcb
This Christian hymn is among the oldest, and one that reinforces the Trinitarian nature of God Himself -- God the Father, God the Son, and God the Holy Spirit. I miss this being sung in church, but I keep it up!

[//]: #3 @deeanndmathews/utmbxldc
This is a very old hymn met with a late 19th-century gospel chorus -- a beautiful sound of Christmas for me, often sung in my church in addition to the classic "Hark the Herald Angels Sing"!

[//]: #4 @deeanndmathews/pagfdmbg
This hymn affirms how everything the Christian has, throughout eternity, is founded on the Lord Jesus Christ, the Solid Rock. The older I get, the more precious and meaningful this becomes as all things change around me, and I age.

[//]: #5 @deeanndmathews/ndcwyzmc
The glory of the Triune God, presented in this magnificent hymn -- among my favorites!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now