First jam session for new folk project

We finally managed to get some people together to play through some tunes for a new folk rock project after last month's meet-up got cancelled due to nearly everyone being sick.

A number of Hivers have been roped in for the sessions, which may or may not lead to us gigging as a band later in the year. They include @purplesinger (keys), @steevc (drums), @anna-newkey (guitar) and myself (recorders, clarinet and sax). Nearly everyone sings as well as playing their instruments, except me and Bob the flute player, who's not on Hive.

I was impressed at how far @steevc's drumming has come along -- those of you who follow his regular drumming posts will probably already know this, but I haven't caught up with them in a few weeks, and it was a very pleasant surprise indeed.

We had hired a well-equipped rehearsal space with loo and kitchen for three hours, and we managed to jam our way through a few songs and recorded the result in case anyone ever wants to make a "Get Back" style documentary about us 😆

Here is a snippet of us jamming on a track I'm going to call Raggle Taggle. It's about a woman who leaves a rich husband and luxurious bedding to run away with a member of the travelling community.

What care I for my goose-feather bed, with the sheet turned down so bravely, O!

I think we've a way to go before we are ready to let loose at gigs, and several more members have yet to join us, but it was a lot of fun, and I look forward to more sessions in the months to come.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now