Monday Drumday: A little swing

I recorded a track last week for the @radioliquorice show that my local musician friends put together. I had been thinking for a while of recording a version of Django Reinhardt's Minor Swing. I did it all on my Gordon Smith electric guitar rather than being all purist about it with a nylon string acoustic. I also did some drumming with my Yamaha DD-65 kit. I just improvised a part for that.

https://soundcloud.com/steevc/electric-minor-swing

My guitar solo is not that great as I really need to learn more about playing over the chords. I hit a few duff notes, but you just have to move on. I have done the rhythm part in the Swing 47 duo with @daniellemurray and our band Swing 42 lots of times. I use the 'Django' chords which are what he could play given his crippled left hand. I feel a little empathy as my right hand is not great due to nerve damage. I was able to hold a pick for long enough to play the various parts on this. It was all recorded in about an hour using Ardour on Linux.

Gear

I am having fun with the Drumeo course. I am taking it right from basics, but can get through some of the lessons fairly quickly with the experience I have built up already. It is still best to try and avoid bad habits by taking note of all the tips. I was just listening to the Drumeo podcast that they used to do. Seems that the school started back in 2003, so they are pioneers on online learning. That was before Youtube made video the norm online.

Rock on!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now