Day Trip in Cebu City: Reminiscing The Past

Hello mga ka-Hive! How was your week? I have another story for you.

I don’t have a planned itinerary for my day trip in Cebu City except for my scheduled appointment. So come along with me as I went to places I usually visit during my years of stay in Cebu in a spur of a moment.

IMG_0895.jpeg
Fuente circle. I used to jog here every morning.

Cebu City is without a doubt a concrete jungle. It is a very busy and crowded city and one must keep up to its pace. Not to mention, its cost of living is too high. As for some, the city is for the rich. Every move requires money. Everyday is a survival mode. Those are few of the reasons I left the place. It triggered and took a huge toll on my mental health.

Moreover, Cebu is a city with a lot of opportunities. It is where you could find growth in your career. It has big structures and buildings and it offers a lot of activities you may enjoy. I could proudly say that it helped me become a strong independent woman.

I lived in Cebu City for eleven (11) years - four (4) years in college and the seven (7) remaining years as an employee. With that, a criteria for being branded as a “city girl”. I had come to familiarize the bustling city within those years. I had kept up to its fast-paced environment. I had learned to blend in with the people. On the other hand, I was doing well at work yet on the contrary, my mental health - sanity does not. It went downhill. With that, a decision to go home and live in my hometown for good. My sanity is my top priority.

Friday of this week, I went to Cebu for a prime reason that I could not reveal as of the moment. Since my scheduled appointment is on 9:30 in the morning, I rose at 4 because the travel time is approximately 3-4 hours from my hometown to the city.

Amazingly, there was no traffic and I arrived in the city at 7:30 am. I embarked at Parkmall and from there, I rode a 01k jeep going to colon street.

IMG_0877.jpeg
Colon street, my balwarte.

As I arrived at the said street, I decided to walk to my destination (can’t be named yet) since it is not too far and aside from the fact that I am used to walking, I also felt like I needed the exercise.

I passed along the crossing section going to my alma mater.

IMG_0880.jpeg
It’s Palarong Pambansa day.

While walking at the side of the road, it transitioned me to fourteen (14) years ago, year 2010. I and my friends/classmates/roommates were on our uniforms, bags are with us and walking our way to the university while happily chatting with each other. We were all a newbie to the city. Just like what you see in the movies. Oh! what a flashback.

Remembering those put a smile on my face. I excitingly sang our university hymn. I can’t believe that 14 years had passed by. There were a lot of changes but the place still looked familiar.

IMG_0883.jpeg

IMG_0885.jpeg
Cebu Normal University. We hail your name with pride 🎵🎶

I also passed by one of my apartments in Cebu. It is funny thinking that once you live there (Cebu) it is inevitable to transfer from one place to another as you continuously look for a better place to live in and security is one of the factors. As they would say, NPA or No Permanent Address. I have been transferring from one place to another during my years of stay.

IMG_0889.jpeg
I had a lot of memories here.

I arrived at my destination earlier than my schedule so I had my breakfast at McDonald’s nearby. I only had pancakes and sausage. I don’t usually eat heavy meals such as rice and dish for breakfast because I felt like puking once I am full. I only eat bread, pancakes, cookies paired it with a hot coffee or hot chocolate.

IMG_0891.jpeg
I am not on a diet guys. 😂

I sat near the glass wall and enjoyed my breakfast while looking at my view outside. Busy with people watching just like what I usually do whenever I am alone in a cafe or restaurant. While people watching, it got me thinking that these people have their own stories to tell, have their own struggles and are fighting silent battles. Each are fighting their own inner demon. There is no one without any life problems. And I salute them for surviving every day despite fighting the battle.

It was already 9:15 and I finished my pancakes and went straight to my appointment.

Afterwhich, realizing my plan, I walked to a certain place I have been eyeing on ever since I saw them on tiktok. I will be having my lunch there. I have been longing to eat and taste this Chinese food called xiao long bao. It is like a steamed dumpling. It looked mouth watering in the video and I must taste it.

It is just beside the pungko pungko restaurant at fuente so it was an easy access. I was kind of worried of the thought that they may not be operating but a huge sigh of relief when I found their store was open and operating.

I immediately ordered one xiao long bao and the shui jiao pronounced as shi jaw caught my attention as well so, I ordered one.

IMG_0941.jpeg
The restaurant (right side is the pungko pungko), the xiao long bao and their menu.

The owner disclaimed that the xiao long bao would take 50 minutes to cook to which I happily agreed. All for the cravings. I was not that hungry anyway.

50 minutes later, my order came. I could not wait to taste it. So here’s my review.

IMG_0900.jpeg

IMG_0899.jpeg
Nomnom. No rice this time cause I don’t feel like eating one. 😂 Again, I am not on a diet.

It tasted like a steamed siomai only that it is bigger and its soft wrapper is thicker. It is fried but the sauce made the wrapper soggy. Its sauce is garlicky since it had minced garlic, onion leeks, it also had some black sesame seeds and had a savory taste. Five pieces were too much for me. Another “matakaw” session. 😂 Then, I tried their shui jiao.

IMG_0902.jpeg
Xiao Long Bao

IMG_0907.jpeg
Shui Jiao

To tell you honestly, I could not differentiate the taste between the two. Their only difference is its shape. I did not finish it cause I was already full. I only ate two pieces. I had it packed and just brought it with me.

Overall, it was a good experience. Not bad for my first. Disclaimer: we have different preferences and taste buds. You may find it tasty and appetizing but not to me. 😉

I went to the cashier and paid my orders. It was time for my next destination. But where? And an idea popped into my mind, why not visit my former employee's old office?

It was just a walking distance from the restaurant. The perks of traveling and doing things alone are that you can go wherever you want to whenever you feel like it. You don’t have to depend to anyone.

IMG_0909.jpeg
En route to my next destination.

Luckily, I brought my umbrella to protect me from the intense heat of the sun during my walk. Another flashback. It was very nostalgic, reminiscing those memories I had with my former colleagues. I passed those carenderias where we used to have lunch together. Some were already closed which saddened me.

IMG_0910.jpeg
This is where we usually go for lunch with my former colleagues. It is already closed now. 🥺

IMG_0914.jpeg
This was where our former employer’s office was located before they transferred to Lapu-lapu city. Another batch of nostalgic stories.

From my former office, I rode an electronic jeep enroute to Ayala. In the middle of the ride, I realized that I rode the wrong jeep. A stroll to Ayala Cebu city turned out to be a stroll to Ayala Central Bloc in IT park. I forgot that there are already two Ayalas. Clumsy me! Anyway, I rarely go to Ayala Central Bloc so, off I went.

IMG_0918.jpeg
Ayala Central Bloc

While window shopping, I came across to this cute self photoshoot studio. It has caught my attention and most importantly it was affordable. So why not give it a try?

I paid 150 Php for a four cut film strip. So if you are two or more, you could split the bill. What a save! I had a retouch first on their vanity mirror and chose some headbands as an accessory. Then went straight inside the photobooth.

IMG_0942.jpeg
The photobooth studio. I forgot its name 🤦‍♀️.

I just followed the instructions pasted on the machine and struck a pose.

IMG_0931.jpeg
The instruction.

IMG_0943.jpeg
From digital to print!

IMG_0928.jpeg
VOILA!!! Cute right?

Minutes later, the printed photos came out. These will be pasted on my journal for memories. I was very satisfied and delighted with the outcome. It really did look so cute.

Around 2pm, my energy level had dropped. I had been awake since four (4) in the morning. I needed some caffeine to boost it. So,I went to SM City Cebu as the North Bus Terminal is just a few minute walk from there. Easier if ever I decided to go home however, I did not feel like going home yet thus, I thought of spending the time at Bo’s Coffee at SM City Cebu.

Unfortunately, Bo’s Coffee was jam packed so I shifted to Starbucks and ordered an iced espresso white mocha with whipped cream. Found an empty spot and sat there.

IMG_0936.jpeg
A very much needed kick 😍. Skipped matcha cause I missed the taste of coffee.

Finally, a recharge.

Cebu city had witnessed my growth. It had witnessed my mental breakdowns, heartache, tears, joy, success and breakthroughs. It has partly shaped me to who I am right now, the Bev that they knew and with that, I am truly grateful. Thank you Cebu City for all the life lessons you had taught me.

And that my friends was how my day trip to Cebu city went, thus far. What a day it was!

Ps.
I bought a graduation gift for my cousin before going home. She has finally finished college and will march at the end of this month. Welcome to the real world, couz.It sucks but you will love it. 😘

IMG_0944.jpeg
Her 🎁

Until the next blog!

With so much love - XOXO,
Bev 😘

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
16 Comments