Duvel series for #BeerSaturday, part 2: Duvel 6,66

Duvel series, part 2: Duvel 6,66


It has been already 9 months since I’ve been writing a small https://ecency.com/hive-168869/@svanbo/duvel-a-beer-to-enjoy-during-the-weekendarticle about Duvel, one of my favourite Belgian Beers.

Like a lot of brands also Duvel wants to renovate and come with something new from time to time, so I decided to make a mini-series from it, today writing about the lighter Duvel 6,66. Later on I’ll come back with a small review on aged Duvel, inspired by a fellow Hiver who wrote a similar point of view on Orval (one of the Belgian Trappist beers) a couple of months ago.

Like the warm yellow label suggests, Duvel 6,66 is the milder, maybe more accesible version of Duvel.
I would suggest to drink it ice cold on these warm days, when you’re looking for a little more than something cold that takes the first thirst away. Duvel 6,66 has got more body and tends to the original, but it’s … lighter. And that is exactly what a Duvel lover like me doesn’t really like in a beer as Duvel. Duvel needs to stay in my mouth for a while after drinking it, and the higher alochol percentage (8,5%) makes it a “devil”, what is more or less a translation of “Duvel”. So yes, I miss this in a Duvel 6,66 (with 6,66% alcohol) but it wouldn’t stop me to drink a 6,66 in the summer if it’s offered to me. Of course only in a typical Duvel glass 

Since it has been exported in 60 countries, I’m sure, if you’re a beer lover, you’ll have at least heard about this great beer, and if you haven’t already tasted it, you should definitely give it a try! And if you’ve got the chance to compare it with a Duvel 6,66, please give it a shot and share your opinion with me!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
9 Comments
Ecency