MY EXPERIENCE BEING DIAGNOOSED WITH ADHD - MY EXPERIENCIA SIENDO DIAGNOSTICADA CON TDAH

Sitio web de fotografía general de selección de redacción de color beige y marrón (5).png

Hi, guys from the Hive community! How are you doing? As I mentioned a little in my return post, part of the things that happened to me in the period of time outside Hive was to confirm that I was indeed a person with ADHD or Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder, which although it did not surprise me much, it shocked me how it really affected me in my life dynamics, but especially in my professional and academic life. I must say before I begin that I think this will be one of several posts I will make about ADHD because although it is a term that many people handle today, almost no one knows exactly how it affects everything they can do.

Hola, chicos de la comunidad de Hive! como están? Como lo mencioné un poco en mi post de regreso, parte de las cosas que me pasaron en el periodo de tiempo fuera de Hive fue confirmar que efectivamente yo era una persona con Tdah o Trastorno de deficit de atención e hiperactividad, cosa que si bien no me sorprendió mucho, si me impactó el cómo realmente me afectava a mi en mis dinámicas de vida, pero sobretodo profesionales y académicas. Debo decir antes de comenzar que creo que esté será uno de varios posts que haré referente al TDAH porque si bien es un termino que hoy en día muchas personas manejan, casi nadie sabe exactamente como afecta todo lo que pueden hacer.

86C49368-61E9-4A13-8D1A-BCDC0EE7D2DA.jpeg

I must say that I have always seen ADHD being the subject of memes and excuses, like "oh, I forgot this, I have ADHD" or "sorry I didn't remind you of this, I have ADHD" and I won't deny that I have said it too, but most of that is just a saying and that's it, and this has only made ADHD seem more like a joking, memeable personality trait to the vast majority of people, rather than a condition that can obstruct someone's development and hinder their interaction with others.

When I went to therapy I had a lot of issues eating away at my mind, I felt inadequate, unappreciated, alone, anxious, frustrated and incapable and I didn't even know how I was supposed to run my life if I didn't even feel capable of anything.

Debo decir que siempre vi como el TDAH era objeto de memes y excusas, en plan "ay, se me olvidó esto, es que tengo TDAH" o "perdón por no recordarte esto, tengo TDAH" y no voy a negar que yo también lo he dicho, pero gran parte de eso es simplemente un dicho y ya, y esto solo ha logrado que frente a la gran mayoria de personas el TDAH parezca más bien un rasgo chistoso y memeable de la personalidad, y no una condición que puede obstacularizar el desarrollo de alguien y frenar su interacción con los demás.

Cuando fui a terapia tenía un montón de problemas que me carcomian la mente, me sentía insufiente, no valorada, sola, ansiosa, frustrada e incapaz y no sabía ni siquiera como se supone que debía encaminar mi vida si ni siquiera me sentía capaz de nada.

E30A3783-9DAB-4D5D-B18D-DE1A5E5B62FC.jpeg

FAILING A SEMESTER IN COLLEGE

I have always worked with small doses of attention, I do a little bit here, then a little bit there and that's how I manage, with certain exceptions (called hyperfocuses) that made me spend more time (sometimes too much) concentrated doing something. I have never been able to be that person who sits down to write an essay in one sitting or to study for an exam, not at all, on the contrary, I go like a chick biting a little bit.

My thesis was no exception, all of it was elaborated in small moments of attention until I finished it. However, when I was in chapter 3 I found myself in a dead end, because the nature of my work was complicated, so I was making corrections and corrections until I reached a point where I practically disconnected from it.

REPROBAR UN SEMESTRE EN LA UNIVERSIDAD

Siempre he funcionado con pequenas dosis de atención, hago un poquito aqui, luego otro poquito allá y así me voy manejando, con ciertas excepciones (que se llaman hiperfocos) que me hacían estar más tiempo (a veces demasiado) concetrada haciendo algo. Jamás he podido ser esa persona que se sienta a escribir un ensayo de corrido o a estudiar por un examen, para nada, por el contrario voy como un pollito picando poquito.

Para realizar mi tesis no fue la excepción, toda ella fue elaborada en momentos pequenos de atención hasta que la terminé. Sin embargo, cuando iba por el capitulo 3 me encontré en un callejón sin salida, porque la naturaleza de mi trabajo era complicada, así que fui haciendo correcciones y correcciones hasta que llegué un punto en donde me desconecté prácticamente de ella.

3F55255D-6380-4BCA-A294-7A7D7868A209.jpeg

I literally "faked dementia" and it was something that really, I don't know how to explain it, but it was not voluntary, I wanted to continue but I was genuinely blocked, I could not focus on anything, not even on the smallest details, my brain could not focus on anything, and I ended up becoming useless, or something like that I felt.

Everyone around that time talked to me about how my thesis was going and that only made me feel worse, because it was like reminding me over and over again how incapable and (from my point of view) gross I was. For a long time I cried a lot because I couldn't do anything, and I felt like I just couldn't take control of my life. Many people always told me how smart I was, but was I really smart, am I really smart?

Literalmente "fingí demencia" y era algo que realmente, no se como explicarlo, pero no era voluntario, yo quería continuar pero genuinamente estaba bloqueada, no podía enfocarme en nada, ni siquiera en los detalles más chiquitos, mi cerebro no podía enfocarse nada, y me terminé convirtiendo en una inútil, o algo así me sentía yo.

Todo el mundo por esos tiempos me hablaba de como iba mi tesis y eso solo me hacía sentir peor, porque era como recordarme una y otra vez lo incapaz y (desde mi óptica) bruta que yo era. Por mucho tiempo lloré mucho porque no podía hacer nada, y sentía que simplemente no podía tomar el control de mi vida. Mucha gente siempre me decía lo inteligente que era, pero realmente lo era?, realmente lo soy?

ED29E882-C327-4B6F-82BA-DDC6B972C306.jpeg
I failed the thesis, and for the next few months, instead of doing something about it, I just accepted that it wasn't for me and that was it, I didn't cry, I didn't do anything, I thought I wasn't going to be able to graduate with my best friend so what was the point of it all. Until finally after going to therapy, and helping me to understand how my mind worked, I decided that I had to get infatuated with doing my thesis. It wasn't easy and I honestly don't know how I did it, but I did the interviews I needed, transcribed them in their entirety, and ended up developing the rest of the chapters by myself, and in the end it was ready.

I tell all this, because ADHD is not just a cool thing to say, it's hard to live with. Nowadays I honestly would like to tell you that I feel amazing, but the truth is that I don't, I feel unable to be independent and to be able to live without help or without people reminding me of the most basic things like answering a Whatsapp or sending an email and the truth is that it's terrible.

Reprobé la tesis, y por los siguientes meses, en lugar de hacer algo al respecto, simplemente acepté que no era para mi y listo, no lloré, no hice nada, pensé en que no me iba a poder graduar con mi mejor amiga así que de qué servía todo. Hasta que al final después de ir a terapia, y ayudarme a entender como funcionaba mi mente, decidí que me debía encaprichar en llevar a cabo mi tesis. No fue fácil y honestamente no se como lo hice, pero hice las entrevistas que necesitaba, las transcribí enteras, y terminé desarrollando el resto de los capitulos yo sola, y al final estuvo lista.

Cuento todo esto, porque el TDAH no es solo algo cool que decir, es dificil vivir con algo así. Hoy en día yo honestamente me gustaría decirles que me siento increible, pero la verdad es que no, me siento incapaz de ser independiente y de poder vivir sin ayuda o sin que personas me recuerden lo más básico como responder un Whatsapp o enviar un correo y la verdad es que es terrible.

2CFE7E02-4353-451B-B47E-4EAF5FE098CF.jpeg

Now that they put a label on me to define me as I am, it is a little easier for me to do certain things, but the truth is that we are not all the same HAHAHAHA. Right now I'm running away and I'm afraid of the working world after graduating, I know I want it and I need it, but once again: I feel incapable of it.

But weeeeeeeeeell, I guess this story will continue and for now I'll leave it here, I hope to continue sharing part of my life and my experience around these parts.

Ahorita desde que me pusieron una etiqueta para definir como soy se me hace un poco más sencillo llevar a cabo ciertas cosas, pero la verdad es que muy bien no andamos igual JAJAJA. Ahorita estoy huyendo y tengo miedo del mundo laboral despúes de graduarme, sé que lo quiero y lo necesito, pero una vez más: me siento incapaz

Pero buuuuueeenoooo, esta historia supongo que continua y por lo pronto lo dejaré hasta aquí, espero seguir compartiendo parte de mi vida y mi experiencia por estos lares.


Thanks for being here until the end

See you in a future post! Farewell, Eli.


Gracias por estár aquí hasta el final

Nos leemos en un proximo post! Se despide, Eli.


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center