A Short Drone Cinematic Reel - Testing The Waters Again


I have been wanting to get back into filmmaking on a more independent scale as of late, and Armenia is riddled with interesting landscapes and locations that make for some really cool videos. I now have my drone with me here and it's something that completely opens up all possibilities. Though there are some limitations given many locations are close to military bases or major airports. But out in the nature, this thing is a blast! I have a Macbook Pro that I purchased specifically for this sort of thing, making sure it was something a little more future proof in regards to shooting and editing 4K footage. So all of these drone shots are in 4K, 30 FPS. I have had to switch to Davinci Resolve as my primary video editor though as I just couldn't get into Final Cut, and Adobe Premiere is just annoying to deal with. I'm not sure how I feel about Davinci Resolve just yet, there's so much I feel I need to get familiar with, but in many cases it certainly does a lot right.

I've wanted to update my gear a bit though, the DJI Mini 2 camera is getting a bit old now, and the dynamic range just isn't the best. I would like something capable of shooting portrait too so that I could appeal to the masses of social media and stock footage that are thirsting for more short-form, cinematic content in portrait. Though, this is a little test with Davinci Resolve. No major editing, just some copyright free music and some clips thrown together to see how it all formed. I think it all went well, and certainly will have me testing the waters a bit more with more colour grading, LUTS, and general editing techniques as I continue to dive into the capabilities of Davinci Resolve. Though that UI feels so technical sometimes. Probably the main thing I don't like about it just yet. Anyway, enjoy this little cinematic reel! A 5GB filesize limit seems challenging for future content though here on 3Speak. This reel itself at 4K came to just under 500MB! Editing feels like something I have to relearn, something that I feel I've forgotten a lot about. It could be the fact that I have to relearn an editing software though. I do slightly miss the ease of Premiere Pro.

It feels good to be back in the Drone community though, perhaps I'll have more to share here again at a later date!


▶️ 3Speak

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
14 Comments
Ecency