Content Breakdown: Archery Gear

I’ve been trying for a while to figure out a good way to outline the contents of my ruck. Last night it occurred to me that the best method may be to breakdown individual subgroups of equipment, so I can focus on what is in each subgroup, what justification there is for carrying it, and how much it weighs.

Today I am detailing the archery tools in my ruck.

9ca4db37_4539_4afa_b591_5e98ed86ee71.jpeg
Abstract shot of bow with arrows (unstrung)

I am trying these takedown arrows so that my full archery set can remain out of sight until needed. Walking through towns and cities with hunting gear on display seems like a good way to have your peaceful walk interrupted, which I prefer to avoid.

These arrows are 28” assembled, and my current bow I believe has a 55 lb draw over 30” (the markings are shown in the limb detail images below, but I honestly don’t know for sure how to interpret them). At any rate, I believe with the shorter arrows I won’t be able to achieve the max pull force, but if I can get to 45 lbs I should still have a viable hunting asset.

69aa9204_f63a_4bcb_ae97_62af9c26b8bd.jpeg
All archery gear

Last year I ordered an aluminum minimalist bow from Survival Archery Systems. I think they said it would be delivered in June or July this year…so a bit of a wait, but hopefully that will be a little lighter.

Currently, all archery gear weighs 2.7 lbs.

9bd9da03_95a2_4d68_a603_878b28e53954.jpeg
Assembled Arrow and Detail of Bladed Tips

These twisted blade tips should be decent for hunting animals of all sizes…or at least of all sizes that I’m likely to try to hunt.

cf0d0fc8_6ae6_4796_9fbc_de35d2690e00.jpeg
Limb detail 1

4d1cd146_fe7c_4fb4_b0fd_4cb5c07f39c0.jpeg
Limb detail 2

I’d love feedback from anyone who knows how to interpret the details on these limbs! I’m not an expert archer by any stretch; I just see this as the most practical and sustainable means of hunting while living out of a bag…but knowledge weighs nothing, so I like to carry as much of it as I can get :)

Thanks for checking out the archery subgroup from my ruck sack, next time we’ll break down another subgroup!

img_1752.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency