Four Roses Review

7A57FB6A-297A-4310-BAE1-D7D8CB8B46F3.jpeg

I love a good sipping whiskey and one of my go to whiskeys lately has been Four Roses Kentucky Straight Bourbon Whiskey. It’s a easy bottle to find at your local store and within the industry it is seen as a highly rated whiskey, known for its smooth and balanced flavor profile.

Four Roses has a rich history dating back to the late 1800s. I love the story of the name on the back of the bottle. I'm a sucker for good marketing. As for a little history, the brand was purchased by Seagram in 1943 and then again in the 2000s by the Japanese company Kirin. The brand has since seen a resurgence in popularity and it’s because of this popularity that I actually tried this whiskey. My whiskey friend swears by all the Four Roses products and he was the one that got me to try my first bottle.

66CE6C69-B51C-4373-B9BC-3139BE79A9CF.jpeg

If you try this you’ll notice that the flavor profile stands out from some of the other cheaper bottles. The base whiskey is made from a blend of different mash bills and different yeast strains, which results in a uniquely sweet, caramel, vanilla tobacco leather flavor profile. On the nose, it has hints of floral, fruit, and spices, with a smooth, medium-bodied mouthfeel and a long finish with a gentle warmth that lingers in the throat. I’ve never mixed it I only have it over the rocks so I can’t comment on it from that perspective. However, add two ice cubes after sipping on glass for an hour you’ll pick up on why they are so highly rated!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now