Chasing Waterfalls: Katibawasan and Tuasan | Camiguin Escapade Part 2

Hi, wholesome reader!

For today's post, we're chasing waterfalls in Camiguin Island! Join me as I share with you my experiences that were surely one for the books. 

Aside from numerous volcanoes, the island is rich with other natural wonders. It has beautiful smaller islands, springs, and waterfalls. Luckily, we were able to visit two of the island's most famous and stunning falls.

Katibawasan Falls

After settling our things at our hostel, as mentioned in my previous post, we went straight to explore some spots on the island. One of these was Katibawasan Falls, located in Mambajao, which was approximately 15 minutes away from our hostel.

The entrance fee to the falls is 75 PHP (1.5 USD) per person. They have cottages and tables for rent, with prices ranging from 100-150 PHP (2-3 USD). But if you're just going for a quick dip, like us, you don't have to rent one.

It was perfect timing: when we arrived, all of the other people were already about to leave, and just as we were leaving, another group started coming in. We were able to enjoy the whole area all to ourselves. Lucky us! The water was so cold, which was very refreshing after our long trip.

The 250-foot-high falls have a wide natural swimming pool. Almost half of the swimming area is shallow. However, tourists cannot go beyond the rope, near the falling water, for safety reasons.

I learned from one of the locals that there was an accident near the falls, which sadly resulted in a fatality. Since then, a portion of the swimming pool near the falling water has been strictly off-limits and cordoned off with a rope. A lifeguard now monitors the area as well.

Tuasan Falls 

Another waterfall we were able to visit on the island was Tuasan Falls, located in Catarman, Camiguin. This was included in our Day 2 itinerary, as it was one of the attractions on the other side of the island from where we were staying.

Tuasan Falls is about 65 feet high, significantly shorter, and its natural swimming pool is smaller compared to Katibawasan. I believe its charm lies in the unique rock formations surrounding the falls.

Entrance fee to the falls is 50 PHP (1 USD). We arrived around lunchtime and were hoping to find vendors selling meals, but unfortunately, there were none. Since the water was too shallow for swimming and we were already hungry, we decided to take some photos instead and left shortly after.


To wrap up, both Katibawasan and Tuasan Falls gave us different yet equally memorable experiences. From the refreshing dip at the towering Katibawasan Falls to the scenic rock formations surrounding the tranquil Tuasan Falls, Camiguin truly offers a variety of natural wonders for every traveler.

Stay tuned for my next post, where I'll be sharing more of the beautiful spots we explored on this stunning island. There's so much more to discover, and I can't wait to take you along on the journey!


Thank you for reading my post up to this point. I hope you have a great time ahead!

I'll take delight in writing for you again soon.

Love, Sam ♡


Camiguin Escapade:
Part 1 | Part 2

All photos in this post are owned by me, unless stated otherwise.

View this post on TravelFeed for the best experience.


Hello, in case you have not read my intro post, my name is Samantha. You may call me Sam for short. I am from Cebu, a beautiful island in the Philippines. I created this space in an attempt to put all the good things in one place, thus, my blog name @wholesamdiaries.

Let's connect! I'd be glad to discover more amazing people here. Thank you once again and see you around! ♡


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now