Trekking, Sketching, and Bird-watching activities at Springleaf Nature Park

After lunch, I decided to head to Springleaf Park for a relaxing trek and to gather inspiration for my next artwork. While there are many parks and nature reserves that offer a better trekking experience, they are often crowded, and there aren't many places where I can simply sit down and draw. For me, this park is the most convenient spot to make it happen!

IMG-20241006-WA0029.jpg

I think it's a great place to relax and breathe in some fresh air—a nice break from city life without having to leave the country.

Before reaching the spot where I paused to do some sketching, I took a 15-minute trek around the area to explore a bit.

I entered the park from Upper Thomson Road, near the Springleaf MRT station, making it a convenient trip with easy access to the park. There are plenty of shops and restaurants around the station where you can grab a snack or enjoy a sit-down meal.

DJI_0587.JPG

DJI_0588.JPG

DJI_0589.JPG

The weather looked gloomy, but I was confident it wouldn't rain, so I went ahead and entered the park.

Since it was after lunchtime, the park was almost empty, with only a few people cycling through to reach the nearby neighborhood or Nee Soon Road on the other side.

DJI_0590.JPG

DJI_0596.JPG

DJI_0626.JPG

DJI_0627.JPG

The blooming season for the lotus plants is already over, which is why the river looks bare at the moment. During the peak of their bloom, the riverbanks are filled with a variety of beautiful lotus flowers.

DJI_0592.JPG

DJI_0594.JPG

We are currently in the rainy season, which is why the vegetation is much denser than usual. I can't help but notice the orchids growing on the trees—they almost seem to have taken over the trunks. It reminds me of scenes from the movie Avatar, though less dense.

DJI_0602.JPG

DJI_0603.JPG

DJI_0597.JPG

The reason I mentioned the Avatar movie is that I saw an insect so exotic, it seemed like a creature from another planet. It's colorful and it has a nice contrast with its black infills.

IMG-20241006-WA0022.jpg

Springleaf Nature Park is also a great spot for wildlife photography and bird watching. Across the river, I saw a photographer who seemed to have found a good vantage point for taking photos. The image was zoomed in, which explains why it appeared low in resolution or slightly blurred.

IMG-20241006-WA0031.jpg

I was also lucky to spot one along the walkway. I didn’t find it myself; I noticed a family looking at something on the side of the path, so I naturally approached them to see what they were looking at. It turned out to be a lovely flightless bird that wasn’t too scared and seemed comfortable with people nearby.

IMG-20241006-WA0028.jpg

IMG-20241006-WA0030.jpg

This spot is located near the bird observation deck in the middle of the path through the park. If you have a good camera with a telephoto lens, this is an excellent place to photograph birds across the river, where they often gather.

DJI_0639.JPG

DJI_0642.JPG

DJI_0644.JPG

DJI_0643.JPG

After my trek and having found the inspiration I needed for my #zingtober entry, I decided to choose a spot where I could sit down and start working on my drawing. I found a great place between the river and Nee Soon Road, where there are benches shaded by trees.

IMG-20241006-WA0024.jpg

DJI_0617.JPG

DJI_0623.JPG

After making good progress on my drawing, I decided to head to a nearby café for a cup of coffee. Along Upper Thomson Road, there’s a café called The Lowe'f Shack that serves food, drinks, and pastries. It’s a great place to hang out, and it has a cozy atmosphere. The café provides cushions for the floor if you want to sit comfortably and enjoy a good time with your friends and family.

DJI_0654.JPG

DJI_0657.JPG

DJI_0658.JPG

DJI_0661.JPG

DJI_0663.JPG


All in all, my day was a perfect blend of creativity and relaxation. I encourage everyone to explore the wonders of Springleaf Park and enjoy the cozy ambiance of The Lowe'f Shack. Here’s to many more adventures and moments of inspiration!

DJI_0616.JPG


curamax.gif


View this post on TravelFeed for the best experience.
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center