From City Lights to River Tranquility: My Evening Stroll Along Kallang River for POB Photocontest

Earlier, I went for a walk along the Kallang River to capture photos for the POB Photocontest hosted by @friendlymoose, with this week’s theme being "Water." I was considering either the Suntec City laser light show at the Fountain of Wealth or a walk along Singapore's Kallang River. As much as I wanted to cover both, I ran out of time, so I decided to focus solely on the Kallang River.

I figured it would be more relaxing to walk along the river rather than navigate the crowds during rush hour in the city.

DJI_0796.jpg

Since I decided to go for a walk along the river, I brought my DJI Osmo Pocket gimbal camera. It allows me to take both photos and videos. Whenever I go somewhere, I always try to bring this gadget because of its flexibility in various lighting conditions. With its built-in stabilizer, similar to a gimbal, it’s perfect for taking photos at night, even without a tripod.

Of course, the overall lighting still plays a big role, but most of the time, it performs well enough to handle most conditions. That said, I prefer using it during the early evening when the lighting is ideal—around 6 to 7 PM—when you can capture the best blue hour moments.

DJI_0792.jpg

I think I was already running a bit late when I arrived at my location. I took the train to Nicoll Highway station and exited at the point closest to the river. From there, I headed straight to the riverbanks and began filming my walk.

DJI_0775.jpg

DJI_0771.jpg

I started around 7 PM, which was already a bit late, but the sky was brighter than I expected for the blue hour. I took the opportunity to record the video, which ended up being about 12 minutes long.

The video captured my walk along the river from the train station to a spot where I could see Kallang Stadium. It was a relaxing walk.

DJI_0805.jpg

DJI_0790.jpg

What I observed during this night walk was that many people come here to either take a stroll or go for a jog, which is a great way to maintain a healthy lifestyle, especially in the city. I believe it's important to stay active to remain fit and healthy. This is particularly true for me since I work in an office, sitting at a desk and facing a computer all day. Going to the river for a walk is a perfect way for me to relieve the stress of my day job.

DJI_0788.jpg

As I approached the edge of the river, I noticed a group of tourists participating in a bike tour led by a guide. They made a stop along the river to take a break and to admire the scenic beauty of the area.

DJI_0806.jpg

DJI_0800.jpg

DJI_0802.jpg

DJI_0797.jpg

DJI_0795.jpg

DJI_0793.jpg

My goal tonight was to experience walking along the riverbanks at night, get some light exercise, and practice my videography and photography skills.

DJI_0783.jpg

DJI_0787.jpg

DJI_0794.jpg

I hope you enjoyed my presentation of the stroll I took along the Kallang River. Have a good night, friends!

DJI_0807.jpg

curamax.gif


View this post on TravelFeed for the best experience.
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
35 Comments