Computer maintenance and clean-up :: Daily and Fresh πŸ“· (307/366)

Hello again! Back so soon!

Since I'm catching up (again), I'm pretty much posting these in a batch. πŸ˜…

Yesterday I was doing some cleaning to my computer, so I took some photos from inside the computer.

I couldn't figure out what was causing the overheating on my computer. I wonder if I should get a beefier cooler for the CPU. It looks like one of my older coolers when I still had an AMD K6 processor.

Weird that I never thought of that before. But that said, there weren't any cooling problems earlier.

It might also be that the thermal paste has dried up or something.

Some dust in between the cooler fins. I need to get a can of compressed air and blow it out, the vacuum cleaner didn't help much.

I had to remove the front panel, because there was a huge deposit of dust right there in front, back and around the front fan. For some reason I didn't realize to check and clean it earlier, although I've been quite thorough otherwise.

The hard drives in order from top to bottom:

  • 120 GB SSD for the OS filesystem
  • 1TB HDD
  • 1TB HDD
  • 2TB HDD

The HDD drives are all chained to create one 4TB partition for my /home directory.

When I was putting my computer back together, I tried out one of my older 6GB IDE drive by using this IDE/SATA to USB converter. The drive needed 12 volts so I took one of the idle power cords in the computer, and connected that with an old extender to give the drive some power.

Turned out that it sort of broke my computer. The first 1TB drive stopped working altogether, and my computer went into a halt. It took me a while to get it back online. It'd been a disaster if my home partition would've gone corrupt. Good thing the BTRFS is somewhat fault tolerant journaling filesystem, so nothing was lost after all.

In the end, I couldn't access the filesystems in the old drive, and I have no idea how to do it. The error message was that there was no recognisable filesystems, or the root block was corrupt. I don't recall the drive being broken, so either it has gone stale from not being used for so long time, or maybe the reiserfs filesystem has been updated so much the old partitions are no longer recognizable to the new software.

Too bad. I was kind of wanting to know if there was some treasures on that drive that I had forgotten there.

I've been using the computer for a day now, and there's been no remarkable overheatings yet. But I haven't really pushed it yet, so it may be just a matter of time.

Well, that's all for now.

See ya!



Weeklies
Weekly and Fresh πŸ“Έ #43
Weekly and Fresh πŸ“Έ #42
Weekly and Fresh πŸ“Έ #41
Weekly and Fresh πŸ“Έ #40
Weekly and Fresh πŸ“Έ #39


Like my post? 🍻 Buy me a beer! 🍻

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now