Tikka Massala

Hello V-Gang!,

After falling off the horse the last months, I am trying to get back on it and at the same time get some good health back. With that in mind, I have been inspired to cook a Tikka Massala dish after having some cravings for a decent curry.

I first made it earlier in the week and then didn't take any photos, but I was still craving some more Tikka Massala so cooked it again and I am glad I did as it was so tasty.

What I like about this one is that it should be pretty free of gluten and low fat, which is my aim right now too.

My ingredients are:

  • 3/4 Tin of Coconut Milk
  • 1 Onion
  • 1 & 1/2 Large mug of Basmalti Rice (~250g)
  • 3 Cloves of Garlic
  • 1 Tin of Tomatoes (Chopped or Plum)
  • 1 Tin of Chickpeas
  • A few tablespoons of Olive Oil
  • Salt and Pepper to taste
  • 1 Zucchini
  • Large squeeze of Tomato Puree
  • 1 Tablespoon of Brown Sugar

Spices used are below. Here is a photo of my initial ingredients, I grabbed a couple of extra things as I went along.

I made a short video of the ingredients:

https://youtube.com/shorts/VbjIkIcisdM

The first step is to gather the main ingredients.

I then start with the rice. I have these large coffee mugs and use 1 and a half of rice which is approx 250g. I then fill with plenty of water and put it on.

With the rice boiling away, I prepare what spices that I need.

I need to look for a better dish to present them on. It is on my to-do or buy list! I try to make the spices look nice like @carolynstahl does in her posts. The spices here are:

1 Teaspoon of Hot Pepper spices
1 Teaspoon of Coriander
1 Tablespoon of Tumeric (yes I have a huge bag of it!)
2 Teaspoons of Garam Massala

I didn't have any cumin left or I would have added it too.

I chopped the onion first to fry. I was also searching if I could find the zucchini that I had spare to add too.

I found it and chopped it up in small cubes to add with the onion.

I tried to make a selfy here but got a bit caught up a little.

The second attempt was better. lol.

Everything was cut and put in the pan.

I added a generous helping of olive oil. I know I was supposed to be fat free, but I thought a little oil wouldn't hurt.

The rice was cooking nicely.

After pouring boiling hot water over it, I left it and focused on the sauce.

As the onion and zucchini were frying, I added in my spices. Im not sure if this was too early, but I put them in.

Once the onion was no longer see-thru and the zucchini abit browned, I added in the tinned tomatoes. Here I had a tin of cherry ones that I needed to crush up abit.

I added half a tin of water using the tomato tin as a measure. I then emptied and rinsed the chickpeas and put them in next.

I mix everything in. I have it on a 6 or 7 heat so that it is nicely simmering.

Another ingredient I initially forgot about was the tomato puree. I need to buy some and used what I had left.

Next in goes the coconut milk and I was apprehensive about using so much intially, because I made it with just 1/4 a tin first and hear I used 3x as much. This was a good idea and probably I would use a whole can in future as it made such a nice creamy sauce.

I was then mixing everything in.

Adding some garlic for taste.

Next in the salt and pepper to taste. Here I also grabbed my wife for the taste test.

Another ingredient I initially forgot about was the brown sugar.

This I mixed in to taste.

Another 5-10mins of simmering and it's ready to serve. I really love Coriander and would add some leaves here if I had some.

A final taste test before serving.

I made myself up a nice plate.

I have to say this was delicious and really hit that Tikka Massala spot.

Once my boy was back from the kindergarten, he said whats that nice smell and had some too. He gave it a 10/10! lol

Although I am a slow learner, I hope to keep improving my cooking skills and learn new recipes and techniques. Thanks for the inspiration everyone.

Thanks for checking out my recipe.

PlainDivider.jpg

My other recipes:

Stuffed Peppers with a Homemade Tomato Sauce and Broccoli
Zucchini with Garlic Zucchini Fried Rice
Introducing the C.L.T.
Vegan Aubergine di Parmigiana
Vegan Homemade Quesadilla with Guacamole
Vegan English Breakfast
Homemade Vegan Bigos - My First Polish Dish
Vegan Spanish Style Chilli
Vegan Cauliflower Curry
Fusilli Bolognese ala Vegan - Glutenfree Edition
A Twist on a German Classic!
Mushroom Curry made with love and leftover ingredients

PlainDivider.jpg

Credits:

All photos and images are my own. Above VEGAN image created by myself in Canva with inspiration from the TShirts made by Tim Schieff that you can see here.

Let's connect : mypathtofire

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
71 Comments
Ecency