Vegan Homemade Quesadilla with Guacamole

Hello V-Gang!,

It is another meat-free Monday and this week I am back in the kitchen preparing a tasty vegan lunch. I make a vegan version of Quesadilla. This recipe is a Mexican dish and I serve it up with guacamole and a side salad.

This is how I have done it, but there are some optional enhancements that you can make which I will mention along the way, such as adding some vegan cheese or using corn-wraps.

This is one of my favorite lunchtime dishes. It is so tasty and quick to prepare, but also really filling. The guacamole is a perfect accompaniment for it and I make a homemade version of this too.

The ingredients you need are for 3 wraps:

Quesadilla

  • Pack of 6 Wraps
  • 1 White Onion
  • 1 Red Pepper
  • 3/4 Generous Tablespoons of Olive oil
  • 1 Tin of Chopped Tomatoes
  • 1 Small Tin of Black Beans
  • Generous helping of Vegeta (approx. 1 Tablespoon)
  • Salt and Pepper to Taste
  • Chilli spices
  • 1 Small Tablespoon of Sugar
  • 3 Cloves of Garlic

Guacamole

  • 1 Avocado
  • 1/2 Large Plum Tomato
  • 3 Cloves of Garlic
  • 1/2 Small White Onion
  • Salt and Pepper
  • Large squeeze of Fresh Lemon

Side Salad

  • 1/2 of a Small Roman Lettuce
  • 50-100g Small Cherry Tomatoes
  • 1/4 of a Small Cucumber

The first step is to gather the main ingredients and get started with the inside of the Quesadilla.

I first chop the onion in half and begin to slice it. We want bigger onion pieces as this will be part of the experience to bite into some nice onion pieces. I also dig up the chili spices that are needed.

I chop the pepper into largish slices like here and add some olive oil to fry it all in.

I add plenty of spices and then start to mix it all in with the olive oil.

Fry until the onions and pepper start to caramelize. I then add the tin of tomatoes and some extra water.

I open the tin of black beans and rinse them under water and drain them off before adding them to the sauce.

You could use kidney beans, but I just love these black ones and the sharp contrast in color. Mix the beans in with the sauce.

I add in a generous helping of Vegeta for flavoring and a small tablespoon of sugar. The sauce then needs to be left alone for 10 minutes. In the meantime, I grab the ingredients for the Guacamole.

First I start with the avacado. I cut if in half and then remove the centre goodness with a spoon.

I get as much as I can out to not waste anything.

I then grab a fork and start crushing it up. Then I add 3 cloves of garlic for some extra flavor.

I chop a left over small plum tomato into small pieces and scoop into the bowl keeping as much of the juices as I can. I chop the half an onion also into smaller pieces this time and add it in too.

I give a lemon a good squeeze to add some more juice flavors to the mix.

The final ingredients are some salt and pepper for taste. I mix and mish it all in together and we are finished with the guacamole.

I grab the ingredients for the side salad. The small tomatoes I just cut in half , the cucumber I wash and cut thinly into slices and then in half.

I wash the lettuce and dry it as best I can before cutting it into strips. I place it in a bowl ready for serving.

We are nearly finished. It's time to do the wraps. I've used wheat ones here, but ideally I would use corn-based wraps. Heat up a large frying pan and place the first wrap in.

Heat up the wrap until it goes to this nice color shown above, it should take 4-5 minutes and then turn it over to repeat.

The sauce should be ready by now and look like this. Grab a spoon and we will scoop it onto the wraps we are preparing now.

Spread it out and cover the wrap.

You should have something that looks like what I have above. Here you could add some vegan cheese if you have some. It's time to grab the second wrap now to go on top.

After a couple of minutes, you will need to flip the Quesadilla. There is a trick to this without everything falling out.

First, grab a plate and put it into the pan. You can then tip the pan upside onto the plate. You can then slide it back the other way to finish.

You use the same trick to take it out from the pan. It should be nice and crispy. I use a pizza cutter to cut into slices. The smell and textures are really enticing me here.

I finally plate up with some guacamole and salad.

This is a tasty dish that I keep coming back for more to.

Those black beans look so great and the guacamole really adds some extra taste.

That's it for this week.

PlainDivider.jpg

My other recipes:

Vegan English Breakfast
Homemade Vegan Bigos - My First Polish Dish
Vegan Spanish Style Chilli
Vegan Cauliflower Curry
Fusilli Bolognese ala Vegan - Glutenfree Edition
A Twist on a German Classic!
Mushroom Curry made with love and leftover ingredients

PlainDivider.jpg

Credits:

Title image created by myself in Canva with their free to use clipart. Above VEGAN image created by myself in Canva with inspiration from the TShirts made by Tim Schieff that you can see here.

All photos are my own.

PlainDivider.jpg

Let's connect : mypathtofire

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
81 Comments
Ecency