Homemade Vegan Cauliflower Curry

Hello Foodies!

Today I have created a homemade cauliflower masala curry. I have been having cravings for some tasty cauliflower and now was a great time to meet that craving head-on!

As you will see, I got a little over-excited when preparing this curry!! You just can't beat having the kitchen to yourself and chopping some fresh veggies! The great thing about eating vegetables is that they don't cost an arm and a leg like meat does. The cauliflower set me back a whopping €1,29 and the broccoli was on offer for something like 89 cents!

First of all I grabbed most of the ingredients that I would be using.

I then first chopped up some carrots and onion.

I also prepared 2 large mugs of rice and brought the water to the boil. I want to make sure I have enough curry to have seconds! I added some turmeric powder to turn the rice yellow.

Next up, you can see how excited I got. Really I shouldn't add any broccoli into my cauliflower curry, but I just couldn't resist. We had leftover broccoli in the fridge that needed eating.

I filled a saucepan with water, chopped up the broccoli into small branches, and put it in a special steaming pan ready to be steamed. I don't put it on yet as the freshly steamed broccoli will be added near the end and takes only 10 minutes.

My chopped onion and carrot are ready in the pan. I add some masala and turmeric spices. I mix in some olive oil from Greece!

Once that is nicely fried and the onion no longer see-through, I add a tin of chopped tomatoes and chickpeas. I'm a little naughty here as it should be mostly just cauliflower, but I'm getting creative.

I start to prepare the cauliflower. I cut the leaves off of them and then cut them into small branches.

I use about half a cauliflower. I then add it to my sauce which I have added also plenty of water for everything to simmer in.

Meanwhile, the rice is already done. In order to stop it from sticking so much. I have boiled the kettle before it is finished and poor this on the rice to loosen it up a bit. I then cover the rice and put it to the side.

I continue adding plenty of cauliflower and mixing it in. It starts to get some nice color.

Again I get excited and cut off some sweet potato. I chop it into small chunks.

I don't chop too much, just a little for some extra texture and taste. I cut them into small chunks as we want them nice and soft. The cauliflower we want is still crunchy the same as our broccoli. There is nothing worse than soggy veggies!

I add in some veggeta-like spices for some extra flavoring. I also add some brown sugar to sweeten it up a little. Everything gets mixed together.

Things are simmering along nicely and I add some coconut cream for the sauce. It will make the curry more creamy and less watery. It also takes the edge off the spices. I put the broccoli on to steam for no more than ten minutes.

Finally, I add the broccoli and mix everything together. It looks pretty delicious and tastes awesome too!!

I plate up an extra large portion as I will break my fast with this meal today but don't manage to finish it.

Thanks for joining me on this culinary journey today.

Full ingredients list:

1/2 cauliflower
1 small broccoli
1/4 sweet potato
2 mugs of basmalti ricce (200g)
Half a carrot
1 tin of chickpeas
1 tin of chopped tomatoes
1/2 an onion
1 tablespoon of brown sugar
A generous sprinkling of Vegeta
Masala and turmeric spices
A large helping of olive oil
3/4 large tablespoon of coconut cream

Credits:

All photos are my own.
Heart graphic used from source

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
93 Comments
Ecency