Zucchini with Garlic Zucchini Fried Rice

Hello V-Gang!,

It is another meat-free Monday and I am back in the kitchen after a 2-month hiatus and I am preparing a tasty vegan lunch. I made today fried zucchini with garlic zucchini fried rice. This is a very filling but also a low-cost meal for eating on a budget.

This was probably the most delicious rice I have ever made and even my wife said it was great!

zucchini.jpg

The ingredients you need for 2 are:

  • 1 Mushroom
  • 300g Basmalti Rice
  • 1/3 of a Pepper
  • 1/2 a Zucchini
  • Large sprinkling of Vegeta
  • Large helpings of Olive Oil for frying
  • Salt sprinkling
  • 1 Clove of Garlic
  • 1/2 medium-sized Onion

2.jpg

The first step is to gather the main ingredients.

3.jpg

I planned to add some carrot to the rice but decided to abandon that idea and do not recommend to add it.

4.jpg

The first step is to boil the rice first which takes less than 10 minutes.

5.jpg

I used around 300g which is a very large mug that I have. (Just over half of a 500g packet). Once done, leave to dry for use in frying.

6.jpg

For the fried rice I start with half an onion chopped finely and added to the pan with some olive oil.

7.jpg

I chop a few not-so-thick slices of zucchini and chop it very finely.

8.jpg

I peel the mushroom and then chop it also very finely and add to the pan which I put on a medium heat.

9.jpg

I then chop off a generous side of pepper that I bought fresh. If you want more texture in the rice, you could use more, maybe half the pepper even.

10.jpg

Once chopped, I add to the pan and we now have some lovely colors to mix in together.

11.jpg

As it is frying, I crush a clove of garlic to add for some delicious flavor!

12.jpg

As it is frying, I add some salt for flavor. The rice is ready to go in once everything has started caramelising.

14.jpg

Mixing everything together, add a drop of water and vegeta. Be very generous with the vegeta, it will make the taste irresistable.

13.jpg

Make sure to keep stirring and flipping the rice around so you don't burn anything. This will take only around 5-8 minutes of frying.

15.jpg

You could eat the rice on its own as a meal, but today I decided to add zucchini. Once the rice is done, it's time to move on to the zucchini. I take another frying pan and add some olive oil. I chop some thicker but not-so-thick slices of zucchini, chop them in halves and add them to the frying pan.

16.jpg

I keep frying them until they turn light brown on both sides, but you can fry them to taste. Optional, you can also add some salt or a sprinkling of vegeta to add to the taste.

17.jpg

It is then time to plate up.

18.jpg

I didn't eat it today, but a good condiment that I like to eat with this dish is hummus. A regular hummus or even a spicier one goes very well.

PlainDivider.jpg

My other recipes:

Introducing the C.L.T.
Vegan Aubergine di Parmigiana
Vegan Homemade Quesadilla with Guacamole
Vegan English Breakfast
Homemade Vegan Bigos - My First Polish Dish
Vegan Spanish Style Chilli
Vegan Cauliflower Curry
Fusilli Bolognese ala Vegan - Glutenfree Edition
A Twist on a German Classic!
Mushroom Curry made with love and leftover ingredients

PlainDivider.jpg

Credits:

Title image created by myself in Canva with their free to use clipart. Above vegan image created by myself in Canva with inspiration from the TShirts made by Tim Schieff that you can see here.

All photos are my own.

PlainDivider.jpg

Let's connect : mypathtofire

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
112 Comments
Ecency