Scholar & Scribe Book Review: A Trail to Cooper's Farm Part 1-3!


Image edited and created on Canva Pro

When I came across the book on Dreemport, I have to say I was a bit deterred by the word length. Like 4,000! The first thing I thought was "Oh my goodness!"

But I am not one who'd just give up that easily. Especially when it came to Dreemport. I always want to leave a comment and I don't like to skim! A big problem. It's like my very own OCD (Obsessive Compulsive Disorder).

And If I want to leave a comment, I'd have to read. I felt stuck. Also, the author was someone I hadn't had much interaction with, so I just steeled myself and 'two tears in a bucket, fluff it!'

I began a story that had me squealing! It began rather boring. With my beloved Jeannie who is the main character in the story. It centered during the time of colonization and all that war stuff. I am not great with history but I understood this was a historic setting which would usually bore me out of my mind.

But then I got to read on and Jeannie is with the other guy (what's his face?) and he has been like a loyal friend or something. Gideon? Samson? Bozo? I really can't remember his name. Forgive me๐Ÿ˜‚

She's fleeing for her life because it seems the law that sets slaves free has been withdrawn. Now, she's a wanted woman. Worse. A wanted slave.

PART ONE is pretty tame. My beloved Jeb and his brother Soames enter the picture and Jeb is taken with Jeanie. I mean who wouldn't? She is entirely different!

Audience: Is this even a review? You sound like a fangirl!

Me: I'm sorry okay?! I have never given a review in my life and this is my best know how.

Part one is all about building the connection and the tension that would explode in PART TWO!

The four of them would encounter really idiotic beings in the future. A very ridiculous hoodlum with a very laughable name. What was it again? Lumaloom? Borian?

Jeez! Gerber! Sounds a lot like Grabber. He was a very unlikeable personality but I thank God for him because if it wasn't for his leaky mouth, I wouldn't have had the pleasure of seeing Jeb loose his cool and go all caveman on his ass!

Jeb totally lost his cool when Jerblin disrespected and leered too much at Jeannie. I mean what does a girl like me live for? Scenes like that!

Then Jeb pissed me off! By a lot! You'd have to read for yourself to find out what he did but I say that slap he received from Jeannie was well deserved! Did they end up happy ever after? Read PART THREE to find out!

My Thoughts

Overall, the author (@stuartcturnbull) was just polished! The story line and everything was perfect with the right amount of knowledge for what would be fiction with the realistic edge!

The dialogue and the suspense was all good too! I found my heart pounding in certain situations and I read two parts in a row! It was that good!

Look, I may not be good with reviews but I know a good story when I read one. It felt like a classic with a lot of 'smut'. Yes. Smut! There was hot steamy romance. Just my type!!

This author had me panting for my next read and I practically begged for a spinoff! I love this series honestly. One of the best I read on S&S and I have read very few of his poems! He is a genius. Give him a follow and go ahead to read A Trail to Cooper's Farm 1-3 plus the first two before that๐Ÿ˜ƒ.


My entry to the February Challenge with Dreemport, Hive Book Club and Scholar&Scribe.

Get started on Dreemport.

What the fluff is Dreemport?

Dreemport is a curation platform with rewards powered by Hive that brings together writers from multiple platforms (like read.cash, medium, publish Ox asf)for improved sharing of content and genuine engagement.

You can read this post: How to use Dreemport? It's Easy!! or How to build a better name with Dreemport. for a clearer picture.

You can also join our Discord and say hello. There are a lot of people willing to help (including me) on this journey. Don't forget to say 'Hello' to me๐Ÿ˜: deraaa#4794.



H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center