Heritage [ENG - ESP]

ENGLISH.png

My grandmother always told me that when I grew up I was going to inherit a unique piece that was hundreds of years old in our family. I never paid enough attention to her to take it seriously and whenever I asked, her answers were always confusing and evasive.

The years went by and I became a teenager with many insecurities and self-esteem issues. My grandmother was still there until one fine day she died as all human beings do, I do not remember having suffered enough with her death but until that moment I was her first and only grandson so my curiosity was activated again for that piece that for so many years my grandmother said I should inherit.

But no one knew how to tell me anything about any piece in fact my parents in particular thought I was crazy and that there was nothing to inherit but a couple of pots with plants sacred to my grandmother.

ESPAÑOL.png

Mi abuela siempre me decía que cuando creciera iba a heredar una pieza única que tenía cientos de años en nuestra familia. Yo nunca le hice suficiente caso como para tomármelo en serio y siempre que preguntaba, sus respuestas resultaban confusas y evasivas.

Los años fueron pasando y yo me convertí en un adolescente con muchas inseguridades y problemas de autoestima. Mi abuela por su parte seguía ahí hasta que un buen día murió como lo hacen todos los seres humanos, yo no recuerdo haber sufrido lo suficiente con su deceso pero hasta ese momento era su primer y único nieto por lo que mi curiosidad se volvió a activar por aquella pieza que por tantos años mi abuela decía que debía heredar.

Pero nadie supo decirme nada acerca de ninguna pieza de hecho mis padres en particular creyeron que estaba loco y que no había nada que heredar más que un par de macetas con plantas sagradas para mi abuela.

Yet I continued to think that my parents were not being entirely clear on the matter. So one fine day I decided to enter the room that since my grandmother's death had been hermetically sealed, when I entered I knew it had been a mistake and an icy atmosphere made my skin crawl to the rhythm of my heartbeat.

Then and there I saw her, it was her sitting in her mirror as she always used to be, upright and as young as she had ever looked, with brand new hair and glowing skin that instantly made it hard for me to see. Although I tried to walk, something did not let me continue, it was as if a thick fog disturbed my body leaving me inert.

I looked at her for the last time and this time she was no longer sitting, on the contrary, standing on her feet, she extended her hands to give me an object that shone brighter than the glare of the sun in summer. I suffered so much from not being able to move that when her figure disappeared I fell into the void in an irremediable way.

Aun así yo continúe pensando en que mis padres no estaban siendo del todo claros con respecto a ese asunto. Así que un buen día decidí adentrarme en el cuarto que desde el fallecimiento de mi abuela había estado herméticamente cerrado, al entrar supe que había sido un error y una atmósfera gélida hizo que mi piel se erizara al ritmo de los latidos de mi corazón.

Entonces y la vi, era ella sentada en su espejo como siempre solía estar, erguida y tan joven como nunca había lucido, con un cabello totalmente nuevo y una piel resplandeciente que al instante me hizo difícil la visibilidad. Aunque trate de caminar, algo no me dejaba continuar, era como si una espesa una niebla perturbada mi cuerpo dejándome inerte.

La mire por última vez y esta vez ya no estaba sentada, por el contrario estando sobre sus pies extendió sus manos para darme un objeto que brillaba más que los destellos del sol en verano. Sufrí tanto al no poder moverme que cuando su figura desapareció caí al vacío de manera irremediable.

When I woke up, a brilliant ring was glimpsed in my hands making the touch of my fingers seduce the mystical, the unreal, the divine and there unconsciously I knew without further explanation, without further mystery, it was that, it was the promise, it was my inheritance that claimed me from the darkness, that belonged to me forever and ever.

Cuando desperté un brillante anillo se vislumbraba en mis manos haciendo que el toque de mis dedos sedujera a lo místico, a lo irreal, a lo divino y allí inconsciente lo supe sin más explicaciones, sin más misterios, era aquello, era la promesa, era mi herencia que me reclamaba desde en la oscuridad, que me pertenecía desde siempre y para siempre.


𝐀𝐧𝐨𝐭𝐡𝐞𝐫 𝐩𝐨𝐬𝐭𝐬 𝐨𝐟 𝐦𝐲 𝐚𝐮𝐭𝐡𝐨𝐫𝐬𝐡𝐢𝐩 | 𝐎𝐭𝐫𝐚𝐬 𝐩𝐮𝐛𝐥𝐢𝐜𝐚𝐜𝐢𝐨𝐧𝐞𝐬 𝐝𝐞 𝐦𝐢 𝐚𝐮𝐭𝐨𝐫í𝐚:


Goodbye, my love goodbye
Gianluca's story
Freedom

Translated by me & also using Deepl

Source of the Image in the cover

GIF elaborated by @equipodelta

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center