Is Passion Enough - part 2

This is a continuation of the blog that I posted some 12 days ago on Hive. It was, in fact, my first blog and subsequently, I put up a post to introduce myself to the HIVE community.

You can read that here

avril_coaching_0269.jpg
This is me - doing what I love - coaching

Passion is the essential ingredient that makes the difference between mediocre and amazing. As Naomi Simpson, the Australian entrepreneur describes it, “Passion is the fuel that gives the energy to pursue your dreams.”

When my life and business were disrupted by the Ebola crisis, I faced a sense of failure and business activities overwhelming. Every time, however when I wanted to throw in the towel and walk away, I remembered the buzz that came when a learner's life changed through my teachings. I became determined to persist and my resilience rose.

Passion enabled me to persist and keep my dream alive.

There was a bigger purpose driving me amidst all my fears and concerns. I remembered the young women who now had a livelihood due to my training and that kept me going.

I wrote these words in a previous article:

Personally, I learned an important lesson. Without passion and purpose, the quality of my work suffered, personal strength and determination failed, and my dreams faded into the distance. Passion is critical not only at the start but also to maintain and sustain the dream – no matter what the goal.

I am sure many of you can empathize! Sometimes you feel that all your work and effort are for nothing.

When my life and my business were at risk due to the Ebola crisis, I had to weigh up my choices. I was passionate enough to persist and pursue my goals, but at the same time, I had to realise that the people I wanted to help were no longer focused on my trainings. They were literally fighting for their health and life. I had to ask myself; “Should I leave or should I stay?” And passion alone could not answer that question.
Some days you see your goals disappearing and possible failure looming.

Fully understanding what truly matters to you can help you get through bad days. Add thought and logic to the mix and you will get even clearer answers.

My next post will continue on questions you can ask yourself to further your ambitions and dreams.

avril_and_fun_0646.jpg

To be continued ...

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center