Why is criticizing obesity considered body shaming?


source

The past decade had its ups and downs and one of the characteristics of it was the evolution of very sensitive humans presumably armed by the Liberals who I kind of respect but quite frankly don't understand. Terms like "hate speech", "body shaming" and "bullying" became commonplace, and were sometimes used to hide the blatant truth.

Obesity is a Health Condition

There are many misconceptions about the issue and that's part of what leads to the problem. I don't encourage bullying or trash-talking unless it's against crooked politicians. However, what a lot of us have failed to realize is that obesity is actually a life-threatening health condition capable of reducing life expectancy by up to 7 years if not treated.

Now I'm no health expert but I can assure you that taking away 7 years from my total time on Earth will really suck but for some reason, talking about the issue with an obviously obsessed person seems to be frowned upon.

Simply being "fat" isn't obesity but it is probably the most obvious symptom of the health condition. Some other symptoms and effects of obesity include fatigue, high blood pressure, menstrual and fertility disorders, birth defects, depression, social stigmatization, diabetes, SEXUAL PERFORMANCE and lots more.

Obesity is a medical condition in which excess body fat has accumulated to an extent that it may have a negative effect on health. People are generally considered obese when their body mass index (BMI), a measurement obtained by dividing a person's weight by the square of the person's height, is over 30 kg/m2; the range 25–30 kg/m2 is defined as overweight. Wikipedia

It isn't as straight forward as the definition because factors like age, height, body type and gender also come into fray. For example, research has shown that when you get closer to your 60s, it is actually healthy to have a BMI in the 25-29 range, which is actually overweight for a younger adult and muscular people(like me) may also fall into the overweight category because of muscle mass. Considering how simply complicated and critical it is, I wonder why people feel so uncomfortable with the topic.

Screenshot 393.png
Turns out I'm overweight

So if someone hits me with the "you look like you're putting on a few pounds" or other variants, I won't get mad. it's an annoying fact and judging by my BMI above, I'm probably overweight anyways. That's just one step away from obesity so I have to watch out.


Silhouettes and waist circumferences representing optimal, overweight, and obese

Health experts have suggested numerous ways to fix this health condition including exercise and cutting down on certain meals as well. I talked about how I lost 8Kg in the 2019 calendar year with out serious exercise and while it is an unothordox method, it proved to be relatively successful for me. I know it's difficult sometimes but don't be ashamed of it, make a conscious decision for your health's sake. You only live once after all.

Here are a couple of places you can check your BMI as well, what's the word champ?

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center