Charcoal portrait Drawings

I would like to show you few head and face studies done in charcoal by observation, in a three hour period.

This is one of my favorite techniques because it gives you an opportunity to "cheat a little bit". It is a very forgiving and often surprising technique.
It is possible to create innovative solutions by accident and apply the same strokes on your next drawing.

20210407_155350.jpg

This "dusty" technique also provides an opportunity to create beautiful transitions in a couple of strokes, realistic deep and soft shadows.

Mistakes are simply removable with special rubber, dry cloth or a tissue.

20210407_155047.jpg

To fixate my artwork, I use the cheapest hair spray the money can buy, found in any supermarket. The cheapest ones showed the most effective in my opinion.
It is also a great solution for when the paper gets oversaturated with charcoal. Just spray it over, wait for the paper to dry out, and continue with your work.

20220315_193224.jpg

Wonderful technique that allows artist to create strokes of various shape, sizes and intensity.

If you would like to see more of my artwork, check out Instagram page: https://www.instagram.com/petrakostanjevac/

Thank you for reading this post,
I wish you a peaceful day.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center