What Kind of Content will Attract New People to Hive?

Create content to educate entertain inform and inspire your audience

I just read an interesting post by @tarazkp about whether we should be producing short, long or mixed-length content on Hive.

You can read it Here

He got right to the point and sparked a discussion I think is needed at this critical moment. I immediately had visions of those super-sized Jerry posts on Steemit, which may have been good for SEO, but were too long for most people to read. However, it brought up another question in my mind:

Blog for a diverse crowd

So I went and took a look at the "New" category and we see a nice mix of different subjects in posts that have just been created. Then slipped on over to "Hot" and we begin to see more crypto and Hive-related blogs coming into prominence. Lastly, by looking into "Trending" we see many Hive and blockchain-centric blogs in the space. Clearly, Hivesters like content about their favorite platform and cryptocurrency in general. So if that is the audience we're targeting, I think we've done a good job.

But I have a feeling you'd like to bring in a bigger crowd, right?

Yes, a mix of post sizes is good, however we want people to find us not only here and on social media, but also as a result of Google searches. If the posts are all way too short, there isn't enough data for Google to sink their teeth into. Too many long ones, and they won't be read at all. I write for search engine traffic as well, so I believe mixed-sized posts should make up about half of our output (like this one), with short and long-form splitting the rest. This will create the right balance to keep everyone engaged.

If someone does a search for "How to fix a leaky faucet" I'd be thrilled to see a Hive post on the first page of the search results. Search engines are the number one way we find things online. It would be great to have a Hive option for as many different subjects as possible.

Let's make Hive a home for everyone

So, going back to what I saw in the "New" sections, I think that those with significant amounts of voting power should consider supporting bloggers creating content about subjects in addition to what dominates "Trending." This would mean lifting up those posts that may not be of immediate interest to some of you, but that may be very compelling to the everyman, Joe sixpack and the soccer moms out there who just might decide to join Hive. If we create useful, relevant content, it will help grow an even larger audience for everyone.

If hive.blog is the home, then the main page is the front door where I'd love to see an even bigger mix of diverse blogs. So to answer the question posed in the title, I want to attract ALL KINDS of new people to Hive.

That's where I believe the different communities really come into play, with a niche for almost every interest. I really like Urban Exploration for example, and joined a group about that. I don't have time to go exploring myself, but it's a subject I like to consume content about. These are exactly the type of things we need to be doing more of. We’ve got the crypto crowd, now we need to consider casting an even wider net by creating a great big tent that everyone will all want to live in. What do you think will bring new people to Hive?

Thank You so Much!

Please follow me on:

👍Twitter: https://twitter.com/EverNoticeThat
👍Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/evernoticethat/
👍Hive: @evernoticethat

photo credit: 1, 2, 3


Please check out my recent posts:

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center