Sasquatches and Elephants Sasquatches and Elephants

"How many times do I have to tell you, there's no such thing as a sasquatch. You're starting to sound like an old man, Dad. If you insist on keeping this up, at least stop talking about it in public!"

Dad frowned. "You still don't believe I saw it, do you Sean? My own son doesn't believe me."

Sean sighed. "Of course I believe you saw something. But you didn't see a bigfoot, or sasquatch, or whatever you want to call it. They just don't exist."

Dad gazed out of the huge bay window. "Until last month I would have agreed with you. I've been all over that mountain. I know every inch of the woods around here. I've spent more days out there in God's country than under a roof. Never saw anything like it."

Sean nodded. "I was out there a lot as a kid too. I still take the kids camping or fishing almost every weekend. Most people around here spend a good deal of time doing something in the woods for that matter. Nobody's ever mentioned seeing anything remotely strange. It was either an animal and a trick of the light, or someone's idea of a joke."

Dad snorted. "Tell me what's thicker than our old oak, taller than a grizzly, and runs on two legs faster than you could when you were on the sprint team? I saw this thing from like two steps away."

Sean shook his head. "I don't know, but there has to be a logical explanation."

Dad's shoulders slumped. "No, there isn't. And I couldn't be mistaken at that distance, either. You're trying to find a way to explain this away, but it's not there. Stop ignoring the elephant in the room. Either I saw what I said, or I'm a liar, or your old man's losing his marbles."

Sean wiped his brow. "I really wish you hadn't put it like that. You'll be 89 in August, and you've always been the sharpest person I've ever known."

Dad nodded. "I still am. You confirmed that several times just this week - don't think I didn't notice. There's nothing wrong with my memory or eyesight. Which leaves only one other option. You think I'm a liar. Why on Earth would I lie about something like this?"

Sean blinked, and studied the pattern on the carpet. "I can't think of any reason, and I don't want to believe it. But what other explanation is there?"

Dad sat, and put his face in his hands. "The right one. That I saw what I saw."

Sean walked over to the window. "I really wish I could accept that. You've never lied to anyone in your life. From what everyone has always told me, your word has always been as good as gold."

Dad blew his nose into an ancient handkerchief. "Well if I'm not crazy or lying, you tell me what's going on! It sure sounds like you just called me a liar."

Sean didn't say anything.

Dad looked up. "Well?"

Still no response.

Dad frowned. "Is it really so impossible for you to believe me? Just come out and tell me what you're thinking. This silence is maddening!"

The younger man remained still, with his back turned. His posture was rigid.

"Sean! You've never been shy about saying what's on your mind before. At least give me the courtesy of a response."

Sean turned slowly towards Dad, a huge smile on his face. "I don't see any elephants in here that need addressing, but there is a sasquatch in the yard! He's trying to get into the smokehouse right now."

Dad sprang to his feet, and was at the window in a second. He gasped. "He just figured out how to work the latch with his fingers. That's no grizzly bear."

Sean nodded. "I saw."

The two men stood side by side in silence as the huge creature strode into the woods, a ham in each hand.



Cover image made in Canva Pro using their gallery source link

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
17 Comments