Messier than I thought!

I wanted to post this for last week's prompt but I couldn't get around finishing it on time. But I still want to share my story.

Oftentimes, we tend to make the most of our lives with the people we genuinely love. And when there's a bridge, we don't seem to get over it until we can.

"Dear Edmond, I've written you tons of letters, and I've gotten no replies from you. I'm truly sorry for the mess I caused you, and I hope you get to see this."

Day after day, I kept checking my phone but got no replies, emails, or calls. And again, I swung into a state of gloominess.

Edmond and I were the perfect "lovebirds" in college. We were so much in love and always fond of each other. He'd prick my ear and run, and he'd expect me to run after him, and I'd do that because I love to play.

He'd tell me, "Rose! I want us to get married."

And I would giggle and say, "Muse, I know you want me to spend forever with you, but now isn't the appropriate time."

He would hug me so tightly in his arms, giving me that soothing feeling of happiness.

One morning, we got into an argument.

"I hate to see you smile and act weird toward Linda. She knows we're in a relationship, yet she keeps flirting with you to make me jealous, and I hate to see the way you react to it."

"Come on, Rose! I can't stop talking to her just because you don't like her; we've known each other for years, and please, let's not do this here."

"You've known her for years, and I'm wondering why you didn't end up with her. Edmond, I hate the feelings I get whenever I see her all around you, especially the way she winks at you. But no, you won't tell her to stop; you'd rather encourage her by welcoming her fantasies: I want you to put an end to it; otherwise, I'd do something ridiculous."

I guess I was acting all bossy and possessive. He never really understood the depth of jealousy I felt within, and I was hurt that he acted oblivious.

"You dare tell me you'd do something ridiculous? I would see," he said, walking away.

He just walked away, meaning he's never considering it. And so I gushed out.

The next morning, I didn't text or call him, and neither did he. I guess we were both mad at each other.

Later in the day, we bumped into each other. He passed me by, and I passed too. We both grabbed our respective seats and avoided looking into each other's eyes.

Out of the blue, Linda showed up, finding her way into his arms. And just like on other days, he smiled at her and hugged her too.

I felt my feet sweating profusely, and I got swept away by anger. I felt betrayed.

I slowly stood up, walked up to Nathan, held his hands, locked my eyes on his, and planted a soft kiss on his lips.

"Ewww! That didn't go well." I mumbled.

And then I turned and saw the tension, the heat, and the glare from the whole class, showing that I'd aggravated the situation. I felt messed up.

I turned to Edmond; I saw the anger in his eyes as tears rolled down his cheeks, and I felt so horrible afterward.

Time after time, I kept begging, pleading, and crying for his forgiveness, but he was unmoved by all of that.

And it's been two years after college, and he hasn't replied to any of my emails.

I felt this surge of excitement when I realized that my college set was organizing a reunion; it was an opportunity for me to see him again.

In ecstasy, I got myself charmingly dressed if not overly dressed, had a beautiful face beat, and wore the sweetest-smelling cologne that projected my elegance.

And so I headed to the beach. I was an hour late. I did that on purpose so that my presence would mesmerize everyone.

As I walked in, everyone stopped their activities and glared enchantingly at me. I felt like a real superstar, and I was happy.

I took a seat in front of me, dropped my bag in one of the empty seats, and heaved a relieving sigh. Just like I'd imagined, I caught a glimpse of Edmond. He was even more handsome than before.

While the musical interlude was playing, I hurried off to his tent, hugged him, and kissed him, but he held back and didn't reciprocate. I tried to kiss him again, but I got stopped by Linda.

"You're never going to do that again. Not in this life, and not in another." Linda warned.

I was perplexed. I needed a few minutes to absorb what I just heard, and then I asked, "Why is that?"

"Edmond and I are married with a child."

That came out ambiguous, and I needed a very clear point.

"That's true; we're happily married. I'm sorry things turned out this way for us". Edmond added.

My heart panicked, my head ached, and all I could see was a bleak future for myself. I slowly and slowly walked out of the gathering to a place where only the birds would hear me cry.

I cried out the pain, betrayal, anger, and disappointment, but it wasn't enough. I needed to cry more so I could feel my eyes bulging out, but it was still never enough.

I sat near the ocean, listening to the birds whisper a song. While enjoying the short moment of peace, I got a soft pat on my shoulder. So I turned, and it was Nathan.

I stood up to walk away, but he held me back.

"Rosemary! The kiss may have meant nothing to you, but it changed me. It gave me a thousand reasons to love again. It gave me hope, peace, bliss, and brightness. I've never stopped thinking about you since then. I love you, Rose."

I felt so good within, and so I opened my heart to a new beginning.

Hope you all enjoy reading 🤗🤗.

woman-girl-freedom-happy-39853.jpeg
Source

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center