The Last Message | The Ink Well Fiction Prompt #143

Hecho a mano (57).png

Image By vecstock


Imagen2.png

Oh, Mirian, dear cousin, I'm talking to you because it happened again! I had that recurring nightmare that haunted me every night. This time it was different but just as frightening as the previous time, and so vivid an experience, that I felt my soul bleed to the depths of hell.

This time I was not at home, but in a lonely cabin on a mountain. I was engrossed in front of a computer, typing meaningless words. I couldn't tell you what they were about, but many times I typed Sylvanna's name with anguish. Oh, Sylvanna, my late wife, how I miss her! I know you are fed up, dear cousin, with me always talking about her, but I have no one else to unburden myself to. I swear to God that I would have preferred to have succumbed to that deadly disease instead of her, but fate cruelly separated us, using death as its executioner.

As I was telling you, Mirian, in the dream I could not stop writing. It was as if my fingers had a will of their own and moved over the keyboard with an irresistible force. Suddenly, I entered a state of trance or amnesia, which prompted me to get up and walk to a chair in the living room of that cabin. There, horrifying sounds chilled my blood. They seemed to come from the depths of hell. I looked around for a way out, but I was immobilized.

Suddenly I felt her, yes, I am talking about that entity, the one that has visited me in my dreams lately. She was wearing a red dress that reached down to her feet. Her long straight hair shone with a coppery hue. The red in her eyes was so intense that it paralyzed me and with just a gasp from her mouth, she made me tremble.

I wanted to say something, but my throat was caught in chains. I couldn't take my eyes off her. She had the bearing of a vampire, silvery and beautifully terrifying. Her slender, moon-white hands reached out to me as she smiled. I wanted to resist, but as always it was useless, again my body did not obey. Then she spoke to me, it was the first time she had ever done so.

"Fear not, my love, it is I, Sylvanna, your dear wife. I have come to see you on several occasions because it pained me to leave you because of that accursed evil. I long for you this instant, I want us to be one forever." My eyes widened at what she said, it was then that my throat freed and I regained my voice.

"No, no, no, no, it can't be!" I screamed. "You're not! You're nothing like her! You just want to cajole me, you monster! Please let me go, I'll do anything you want, but stop tormenting me!"

"Please, my love, don't treat me like this. You make me angry, you know what happens when I get angry." After that she started she opened her mouth slowly as her fangs lengthened. She started walking towards me, her whole shadow enveloped me. The fear was so strong that it saved me at that moment, I regained control of my body and ran towards the door.

"Love, don't leave me, come back to me!" She shouted at me, she said something else, but I didn't hear her, I was too busy running away until I slipped and rolled on the floor, then I found myself awake at the side of my bed, I wiped the sweat from my face and grabbed my phone to record this audio for you.

Oh, Mirian, please come, you're the only one who understands me! I know it's three in the morning and I'm sure you're asleep, but I'm so scared and I feel like this has gotten out of control. When you hear this audio, please... Wait...! I think I heard something in the kitchen...!


sad-news-upset-young-woman-with-mobile-phone-reads-message-night-portrait-home.jpg

Image by Dragana_Gordic on Freepik


The next morning, Mirian looked at her phone and played her cousin's audio. She was startled at first, but then thought he was taking some new pills that might be disturbing his sleep and calmed down. She decided to stop by before work to check on him to see how he was doing, leisurely dressed up, and drove to her cousin's house.

When she arrived, she was out of breath with her heart was pounding. There were police cars blocking the street and an ambulance in front of the house. Mirian parked where she could and got out of the car in anguish. She ran up to a policeman looking for information and he told her they were in the middle of a murder case.

Mirian couldn't believe it and her words caught in her throat. Her heart leaped out of her chest as she saw paramedics carrying a black tarp-covered body out of her cousin's house. One of the hands was sticking out, she recognized the ring on one of the deceased's fingers and that's when she burst into tears. That day she regretted not having been awake to save her cousin.

THE END


Imagen1.png

EL ÚLTIMO MENSAJE


¡Oh, Mirian, querida prima, te hablo porque otra vez sucedió! Tuve esa pesadilla recurrente que me atormenta cada noche. Esta vez fue diferente pero igual de espeluznante que la vez anterior, y tan vívida la experiencia, que sentí que mi alma se desangraba hasta las profundidades del infierno.

Esta vez no me encontraba en mi casa, sino en una cabaña solitaria sobre una montaña. Me hallaba absorto frente a un ordenador, tecleando palabras sin sentido. No sabría decirte de qué trataban, pero muchas veces escribía con angustia el nombre de Sylvanna. ¡Ay, Sylvanna, mi difunta esposa, como la extraño! Sé que estás harta, querida prima, de que siempre te hable de ella, pero no tengo a nadie más con quien desahogarme. Juro por Dios que hubiera preferido haber sucumbido yo a aquella mortal enfermedad en vez de ella, pero el destino nos separó con crueldad, usando a la muerte como verdugo.

Como te contaba, Mirian, en el sueño no podía dejar de escribir. Era como si mis dedos tuvieran voluntad propia y se movieran sobre el teclado con una fuerza irresistible. De repente, entré en un estado de trance o amnesia, que me impulsó a levantarme y caminar hacia una silla en el salón de aquella cabaña. Allí, unos sonidos horripilantes me helaron la sangre. Parecían salir de las profundidades del infierno. Busqué con la mirada alguna salida, pero estaba totalmente inmovilizado.

De pronto la sentí, sí, te hablo de esa entidad, la que me visita en mis sueños últimamente. Llevaba un vestido rojo que le llegaba hasta los pies. Su cabello liso y largo resplandecía con un tono cobrizo. El rojo de sus ojos era tan intenso que me paralizaba y con solo un jadeo de su boca me hacía temblar.

Quise decir algo, pero mi garganta estaba atrapada por cadenas. No podía apartar la vista de ella, tenía el porte de un vampiro, plateada y hermosamente aterradora. Sus manos finas y blancas como la luna se extendían hacia mí mientras sonreía. Quise resistirme, pero como siempre fue inútil, de nuevo mi cuerpo no obedecía. Entonces ella me habló, era la primera vez que lo hacía.

“No temas, mi amor, soy yo, Sylvanna, tu querida esposa. He venido a verte en varias ocasiones porque me dolió dejarte por culpa de ese maldito mal. Te anhelo en este instante, quiero que seamos uno para siempre.” Mis ojos se abrieron de par en par con lo que dijo, fue entonces que mi garganta se liberó y recuperé la voz.

“¡No, no, no, no puede ser!” Grité. “¡No eres ella! ¡No te pareces en nada! ¡Solo quieres engatusarme, monstruo! ¡Por favor, déjame ir, haré lo que quieras, pero deja de atormentarme!”

“Por favor, mi amor, no me trates así. Me enfadas, sabes lo que ocurre cuando me enfado.” Después de eso empezó abrió su boca despacio mientras sus colmillos se alargaban. Ella empezó a caminar hacia mí, toda su sombra me envolvió. El miedo fue tan fuerte que me salvó en ese momento, recuperé el control de mi cuerpo y corrí hacia la puerta.

“¡Amor, no me abandones, vuelve conmigo!” Ella me gritó, me dijo algo más, pero no la oí, estaba muy ocupado escapando hasta que resbalé y rodé por el suelo, luego me encontré despierto a un lado de mi cama, me sequé el sudor de la cara y cogí mi teléfono para grabarte este audio.

¡Ay, Mirian, por favor, ven! ¡Eres la única que me comprende! Sé que son las tres de la madrugada y seguro que estás dormida, pero tengo mucho miedo y siento que esto se ha descontrolado. Cuando escuches este audio, por favor… ¡Espera…! Creo que oí algo en la cocina…


A la mañana siguiente, Mirian miró su teléfono y puso el audio de su primo. Se sobresaltó al principio, pero luego pensó que él tomaba unas pastillas nuevas que quizás le alteraban el sueño y se tranquilizó. Decidió pasar a verle antes de ir al trabajo para saber cómo estaba, se arregló sin prisa y manejó hasta la casa de su primo.

Al llegar, se quedó sin aliento con el corazón desbocado. Había patrullas de policías bloqueando la calle y una ambulancia frente a la casa. Mirian aparcó donde pudo y salió del auto angustiada. Se acercó corriendo a un policía buscando información y este le contó que estaban en medio de un caso de asesinato.

Mirian no podía creerlo y sus palabras se atascaron en su garganta. El corazón se le escapó del pecho al ver a unos paramédicos sacando un cuerpo cubierto por una lona negra de la casa de su primo. Una de las manos se asomaba, reconoció el anillo en uno de los dedos del difunto y fue cuando estalló en llanto. Ese día se arrepintió de no haber estado despierta para poder salvar a su primo.

FIN

Texto traducido con Deepl | Text translated with Deepl

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center