Wings of Promise



I gulp down the last drops of bitter coffee as dawn's light filters into the lab, trying in vain to settle my churning nerves. Today's the big day, after five long years developing my personal aerial vehicle, this first full-scale test flight could change transportation forever. That is if all the calculations and safety checks I've agonized over for months hold up.

source

No pressure or anything. I just really don't want my prototype and lifelong ambition crashing literally and figuratively in flames.

My test pilot and longtime friend Kelly breezes in, signature aviators already covering her eyes. "Ready to see if that crazy contraption of yours can actually fly, Doc?" Her swagger instantly puts me more at ease. Out of all our pilot candidates, Kelly boasts the most natural talent and fearlessness in the air. If anyone can put my prototype through her paces and stick the landing safely, it's her.

We go through the pre-flight checks before Kelly gives me a jaunty salute and vaults into the compact cockpit. I hold my breath, crossed fingers tucked into my lab coat pocket as I monitor the telemetry feeds. The engines ignite with a roar, filling the hangar with vibrations as the angular aircraft rises swiftly into the air. No runways, no hassle...just open sky above.

My heart lodges in my throat as Kelly banks a wide turn, angling over the test area. "She handles like an absolute dream up here, Doc!" Kelly whoops through our radio channel. "Are you seeing these mobility readings? Your gyroscopics fine-tuning really paid off! I could fly circles around those clunky helicopters any day in this sweet ride."

I can't help an excited grin watching Kelly put my personal flight craft through a series of maneuvers, my anxiety dissolving bit by bit. She makes handling the rapid acceleration, 360 degree spins, and abrupt stops and starts look effortless. Like a dance choreographed just for her up there. I stop constantly scanning sensor panels to just take in the graceful aerial display, pride swelling in my chest. She really does handle magnificently up there.

Nearly an hour passes in the span of a heartbeat. Consulting my notes, I radio up a suggestion to engage the emergency auto-landing protocols I've coded, just to confirm that failsafe works smoothly. "You got it, Doc! Taking my hands off the controls now." I hold my breath seeing Kelly release the manual controls as the automated Systems take over. But the compact aircraft begins a controlled descent right on schedule, landing struts extending. Touchdown occurs with barely a noticeable bump, the lifters fluidly compensating.

"Flawless auto-land sequence complete!" Kelly confirms excitedly through her headset. I pump a fist, overjoyed it worked perfectly. No alarms or disasters yet!

Kelly requests to take over manual controls again for some final maneuvers. I readily agree - no reason not to let her have a little fun up there since all systems are nominal. She proceeds to rocket through several barrel rolls, backwards loops, and even a corkscrew dive that has me white-knuckling my tablet despite the safety harnesses.

"Yeehaw, this thing glides smoother than butter!" Kelly crows. "I swear I could stay up here for hours tinkering!" But a beep from her console indicates minimum power thresholds are nearing. "Aww drat, it seems break time is over," she grumbles playfully. "I'm gonna bring her down while power lasts. But after that stellar test run, how about we grab some victory drinks later, my treat?"

"Make mine an Irish coffee, I'm gonna need it after the heart attack from watching those aerial stunts of yours!" I shoot back, laughing in relief. The successful first flight feels wonderfully surreal after so many years dreaming and toiling.

Kelly guides the craft through a gentle descent, landing struts reengaging. Touchdown couldn't go more perfectly. Right on the intended mark, almost no drift or wobble. Textbook performance!

Kelly hops down from the cockpit as I race over, nearly barreling into her with an enormous bear hug. "Despite your crazy whirling dervish stunts up there, she did beautifully!" I exclaim, practically giddy. "I think this calls for cracking open the 20-year Scotch I've been saving in my desk, what do you say?"

Kelly grins ear to ear. "I say it's about time, Doc!" She playfully straightens my perpetually crooked tie. "Drinks are definitely in order to celebrate finally proving the naysayers wrong. Here's to the future of flight!" Still buoyed on the giddiness of success, we chatter eagerly about plans to show investors and launch a startup as we leave the hangar arm in arm. No crashes or explosions for us today! Just breathless possibility of taking flight at last.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center