The Disastrous Toast

The Disastrous Toast



Source

Yes, this moment was mine. As the best man, Jide's closest buddy, and Omowunmi's childhood friend. The opportunity to honor the beautiful new couple with words of wisdom and best wishes on their future journey. I hoisted my sparkling wine glass in a beautiful environment lit by candles. Everyone around me was happy, including the new couple who held up their glasses as I prepared to give a toast.

Source

My gaze swept over the throng and settled on the stunning bride standing next to Jide.

That was meant to be my function. I was immediately overcome with overwhelm. I was filled only with resentment, jealousy, and an intense aching sensation in my abdomen. Since we were little, I have always loved Omowunmi, but she is getting married to Jide. The fact that Omowunmi never once reciprocated my affections for her wounded me a great deal. These are the feelings I've been holding on to, but they're not coming back.

There are moments when I question why she did not realize we were destined to be together. I know that Jide is unable to show Omowunmi such profound affection, but I made the internal decision to merely pay attention to the celebration we are having right now.
I did everything in my power to compliment the couple in the reception hall during a lovely toast. Not only that, but I began by telling them pleasant stories about their early years and complimenting Jide and Omowunmi.

Seeing two childhood friends declare their love and commitment is quite heartwarming.

As soon as I finished my champagne, the alcohol's effects began to take hold. My composure suddenly gave way, and I let my feelings flow, including my annoyance with Omowunmi's choice. Then, as I pointed to Jide and said, “He wasn't the right partner for Omowunmi and that their charm of the relationship will soon fade away as time goes on,” my voice became quite harsh.

Rather than making a real and heartfelt toast to Jide, I ended up giving him a scathing critique, which unnerved the audience.
*I looked at the bride at that moment, and her countenance changed from one of happiness to one of astonishment and disdain at my jealousy and anger erupting. Because of my envious behavior and inebriation, Jide became enraged and urged me to go, saying, “You said enough.” You're no longer my friend if you can’t be pleased for me.

When the guests finally realised what I had said in return, they gasped in shock and I stood there, mouth open like a gasping fish. How had I behaved? When I realized how much harm my disgraceful show had caused, I felt ashamed. I attempted to apologize, but my remarks made matters worse.
My suppressed feelings seemed weighty, as if they would break me. I left the reception area with a sorrowful heart, knowing that my compulsive longing for a lady who could never be mine had ruined our friendship and caused them much pain.

The only thing left was the sour taste of bridges torched and words never again said. I meant my toast to be a celebration of their unending love. Rather, my envy made sure I would always be by myself, cut off from the people I loved the most. If I was lucky, maybe we might mend the relationship that I had irresponsibly broken.

Even with the greatest of intentions, we lift our glasses only to have them break in front of our eyes, the pieces lost in the debris of our errors.

Thanks for reading my post

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now