Alternate Universe.

img_0.1225974131923965

Jordan Seott

The last thing I remember is the pilot telling all the passengers to fasten their seatbelts and to hold on tight because there was a minor disturbance caused by turbulence.

Then everything went black.

Where am I?

I sit up on the ground, not yet aware that I am on the ground. I look around looking for anything in particular that'd tell me I'm back in my city, Lagos.

The lights on the roads are on even though it's day time. Everything seems to be in a stand still and it seems like there's no air, yet I seem to be breathing well.

Am I dead?

That should explain this whole strange world I got lost in. Of all the places to get lost, it's in some dimension I know nothing about.

What is wrong with me?

Nothing seems familiar. It looks like it's Lagos yet it's not Lagos. The hustle and bustle Lagos is commonly known for is nowhere to be found.
Everywhere is unnaturally quiet which is very odd. Lagos is never quiet.

There are people around me which makes it more strange, I see people everywhere and yet no sound comes from them.
The look on their faces are stern and serious like everyone has an important meeting to attend at the same time and people walk in all directions, through the streets and alleys.

I'm confused. Where is this place?

What is happening to everyone?

Something catches my eye, it's a fellow passenger from the plane. I wave frantically at her, but she just stares on and walks past me even though I practically jumped in her way just to make sure I get her attention.

"What? Hey you!"

I shout at her but she goes on in that odd straight, robot like manner that is common to every individual I see in this place.
It seems I may be the only one who is actually aware of his surroundings.

I walk up to an old man trotting along on the sidewalk, I make a grab for his hand hoping physical touch might get him to notice me and help me find my way out of here. Instead he diverts his hand and keeps on walking without saying a word or even glancing at me.

"What's going on? Where am I?"

I say to a random lady and I get the same cold silence. I look around me, the buildings are tall, very tall and they seem to go on and on and on. For some reason it looks like an alternate universe where everything and everyone is the opposite of the real world.

The roads are neat and broad and seem to be endless and no one seems to care that this place is a bit off.
I decide to go in the direction of what seems like a major bus stop.
The buildings loom over us and it seems like I'm being watched from behind the dark, dark windows.

As I walk on in this oddly quiet crowd, I try to get acquainted with the environment looking for a sign or a poster or even something with the day's date on it, anything at all seeing as no one is in the mood to talk, I see nothing of the sort instead all I see are buildings and buildings side by side and the road in between them.

The buildings look new and shiny yet they seem abandoned. I wonder if people are in them or if they are, they're probably not going to talk like these ones.

I shake my head, trying very hard not to lose my sanity and scream like a lunatic till someone somewhere hears my cry.

A shiver runs down my spine as I look into a window trying to figure out what's inside.

Is that a shadow?

I can't really tell because the windows are tinted, all of them.
Suddenly, something drops from my pocket, it's my phone.
I can't believe my luck as I hurriedly unlock it with the aim of calling anyone in particular.

"Huh?" I say in shock.

My phone is empty, there are no apps, all my contacts are nowhere to be found. My hopes of escaping are dashed.
Something pops on the notification bar and I tap on it, it's a recording.

I press 'play'.

"Alexander...Xander...Alex...Alex! Alexander!"

The recording says.

Someone knows my name. I try to pause it but it's on a loop and my name keeps being repeated in the recording.

"Alexander... Alex... Alexander."

I suddenly feel dizzy and before I know it everything goes black again.


"Alex?" A female voice calls softly.

I try to get up, but my body feels lazy to move so I wiggle my fingers hoping the rest of my body will follow.

"He's awake! Get the doctor!" A male voice this time.

I can hear someone sobbing quietly, but I'm more concerned with trying to get up and telling them I don't need a doctor.

My eyelids tighten as a bright light shines through them and I open my eyes to slits.

"Mr Alex, open your eyes." The man holding the bright light tells me.

I want him to take the light out of my face, but my words are slurred.

"T..t..take..ittt..a..a.way." It comes as a harsh whisper but it was heard because the light went off.

"Mr Alex, you're lucky to be alive and we're all happy that you are." The doctor says.

Huh?


The End.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center