Time does not forgive

THE INK WELL.png

halo7.png

Time is essential, we cannot take it lightly. Simply because it will be too late later.

Alberto Peña knew this. Since his breakup with Miss Isabel, he knew it and didn't waste time.

"Time is a ghost that only remains to be remembered," he said as he finished the paragraph of his book. "Who would have thought!" he said when the timer went off, marking his break time.

He had been implementing the Pomodoro technique for a month and nine days. It had been difficult, but he did it by remembering that fateful moment that led him to order his life.

Alberto picked up his phone and recorded the following:

"I have completed 4 Pomodoros of 25 minutes, with one interruption due to a delivery call for dinner. I am finishing chapter VII of my novel."

He finished recording and drank a full bottle of water. He looked at his food, which was a family-sized pizza for him alone.

Alberto's apartment was small but tidy. The dishes were clean, the books were dusted, the fridge was empty, and the bathroom was clean. There were no photos, portraits, or posters in the apartment that identified any of Alberto's hobbies or past.

Alberto lay down on his sofa bed. Looking at the ceiling, but he didn't stop there and called Isabel.

"My novel is almost finished," he said.

"I don't mind you calling me, but why are you telling me about the novel that tells our breakup?" Isabel's voice was soft and affectionate, like a caring mother. "Doesn't it hurt you?"

Alberto didn't answer, he just wanted to hear her voice.

"You know me," Isabel continued.

"You don't know me, because if you did, you would have understood me," and he hung up.

Five minutes had passed, and he had to proceed to take a walk around the neighborhood for 25 minutes and then proceed to sleep until the next day.

"Time is a ghost that only remains to be remembered," he said and quickly got dressed to go out.

Before going out, he activated the Pomodoro and left the apartment.

"I accept," was the answer.

They both agreed to meet to finish up the remaining paperwork. Immediately after hanging up, he called another number.

"You got it right? You're going to publish our breakup," Isabel's voice still sounded affectionate and understanding. "Won't you feel uncomfortable? It's been how long? Almost two years?"

Alberto didn't say anything and hung up.

Some tears came out, but he wiped them away so no one would notice and got off before his stop. Walking wouldn't hurt.

Alberto stepped onto the stage when he was called. It had been a while. Three years, and it still hurt him. People talked about his novel on the street, and wherever he went, they mentioned Isabel. Now he was in the middle of a gathering because he had won the country's literature prize.

"Good evening, ladies and gentlemen. Thank you all for coming. To be honest, I didn't expect my novel to cause so much excitement."

There was laughter from the audience, including Mr. Hugo, but no other celebrities, just fans of his work.

"I know that many people can relate to the novel. A breakup is not easy. I want to think that that person is still alive and out there, ready to listen to me. Does that sound crazy, right?"

Several people laughed again, but they didn't know.

"She was my great love. She called me messy and disorganized. I was, unfortunately, and perhaps that detachment from reality was what led to her death."

The people stopped laughing.

"That book is a criticism of the society we live in in this country. Like Isabel, thousands of people die for lack of medical treatment. Perhaps it is not reflected in the work, because I blame myself for my lack of realism. For believing that something would work out in the end and that a miracle would happen. But I did nothing, I thought my friends would help me, but they never came. My disorder and positivity caused everything. However, the government should support hospitals properly. Forget about the entertainment industry a bit, about building more businesses, and about sports. People are dying, and not everyone can be positive all the time. That's not necessary. Support hospitals and schools so that the rest can be sustained."

Alberto stopped talking and looked carefully at his audience.

The people were stunned. The cameras were still filming him. He got off the stage calmly, taking his prize.

halo7.png

Negro Rojo Estampado Líneas Hotel Tarjeta Presentación (1).png

Cover and Banner made in Canva; Image generated in Canva by AI, Separators made in photoshop

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
9 Comments