Essence of neighborly love-The Ink well Prompt #90

Samuel is a young man who lives with his father Tomas and his mother Juana, on a farm in a very simple house, they grow vegetables, pastures and raise large herds of goats, he shepherds them. Since he was a child he grew up bathing in the river that runs next to the farm, hanging from the lianas of the trees he moved from one side of the river to the other.

This is how he spent his childhood, when he reached adolescence he became an athletic, corpulent young man, with great strength and fighting spirit, he was not afraid of anything, he had a lot of energy.

One day Samuel was herding the goats, when they stopped to drink water, one of them was left behind, a wolf tried to eat it, he chased it and the animal ran away terrified.

At dusk the young man was coming with his flocks, suddenly the goats began to wander with a certain nervousness, Samuel with his eyes wide open like those of a vulture, looked towards the bushes and perceived that an evil spirit was on the loose. He made the sign of the Cross and with great vigor said: "Holy Spirit, protect me and my flocks. In your name I rebuke all evil, away with Satan!". Immediately the flock was led away and arrived at the farm, safe and sound.

He barely went to school, because it was too far away, but he learned the basics and developed a love for reading. He liked books related to diseases and animal care. He was a self-taught, when he became a man, his essence of self-improvement made him form himself through the knowledge acquired in those books. In addition to the observation and experiences with goats.

When these animals are in labor, he assists them. He has his team of surgeons. If the birth is before 5 months, he gives a treatment that prevents the goat from losing the kid. If the kid is going to be born standing up, the young man inserts his hand with the glove and straightens it, so that it is born without problems. If these methods do not work. A surgical intervention is performed. So that the babies are born healthy.

At the beginning of the month, next to Samuel's farm, a lady moved in with her daughter, her partner left her and went out of the country, she is very pretty, they came from the city because Sughey is pregnant and depressed due to her love situation.

To get to that farm. The wagon took them to the foot of the hillside because there was no other means of communication and to get to the village they had to travel by donkey with their belongings in the backpacks carried by those animals. That mother had to make that sacrifice so that her daughter would feel well.

Every morning Samuel watches from the fence that separates one farm from the other the young neighbor girl sitting in a rocking chair, her gaze lost in the horizon, not even in her emerald green eyes could he see a flicker.

In the afternoon when he returned from herding the goats, he brought her a bouquet of red flowers, calla lilies. When she saw them she smiled and said: "how beautiful, they are the ones I like". He replied: "when I was coming down the road a little bird told me to cut them, they are the ones that captivate you". She held out her hand in gratitude and exclaimed:

"Thank you, my name is Sughey." her mother, Rosiris, approached the young man and said, "We are here for you, you can come visit us whenever you want." From that moment on, a healthy friendship was born between them.

A few days later at about 1 o'clock at night Sughey went into labor, she felt very bad, the pains were very strong, her mother ran to call the young man, desperate standing next to the palisade she began to shout: "Samuel, Samuel", my daughter is very bad", he looked out. She replied, "run my daughter fainted, she can't give birth". Samuel grabbed his medical surgical kit and ran to Rosiris' house.

When Sughey's mother arrived, she said, "Let's go to her room". When Samuel saw her fainting, he gave her a little pat on her face and made her wake up. Then he examined her, and realizing that she was giving birth, he indicated very gently:

"One more push and you will see your child". That was enough for Sughey to give birth to a beautiful baby girl. When she heard her daughter's cry. The young woman wept with joy. :

He finished accompanying her through the delivery. Then he gave the baby to her grandmother and she bathed and dressed her. Then he examined her and said, "This child is in perfect health, she is very intelligent and pretty like her mother."

He put her daughter in his arms and she said, "Today you have made me the happiest woman in the universe, I will always be grateful to you." He replied:

"It was my duty, men, when we see our neighbor in a difficult situation, we have a spirit that moves us to help them." She asked him: "Are you a doctor? He replied:

Yes I am, but the empirical, the circumstances of life and my work made me prepare myself in the field of medicine, empirically, to prevent my herds from diseases. Since I was a child I have coexisted, with them and my essence induced me to learn to assist them in all their existence." He explained:

"The first woman I have ever attended to give birth to a child is you". Sughey replied: "I congratulate you, you are a tremendous doctor, since I had my daughter Fabiola, my depression disappeared, now my whole life is full of Her". He replied:

"Fabiola needs a father. Her cheeks reddened like the red cayenne flower" She replied: "let me think about it, I don't want to suffer another disappointment in love".

He replied, "Take the time you need to think about it. I will be patient in waiting for you".

From that moment on, every woman who goes into labor in that village, Samuel assists her, since it is difficult to leave that village, there are no roads for automobiles.

Today Samuel and Sughey have been married for 20 years and have 3 children. He continues with his work of shepherding and medical assistance to his herds of goats.

Last week he received an invitation from the University located in the city. To decorate him with the title of doctor of honor and cause, for the work done since he was a child until today with his goats. And for the assistance he has been giving for twenty years to the women of his village when they give birth.


The story is fiction
I hope you like it
The drawings are my own
I used Deepl translator

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center