Yesterday's Prisoner

image.png
unsplash

"Hey, what happened to him?"

"Has he became crazy?"

I could hear the gossip of the people that surrounded me. They thought I was crazy because of laughing alone and staying in a quiet place alone. The world changed some time ago. Every action has a restriction as if people are not free to do what they want. I feel like this is not the ideal way to live as a human.

The crowded waiting shed where people stayed and had some random conversations. The street was fully loaded with the children playing. The neighborhood just grouped each other every morning. The laughter of their silly gathering was now not allowed. The police officers will arrest someone if they don't follow the new ordinance.

"This is suffocating," in my thoughts.

The rebellion worsened when the citizens didn't like the new government rules. It was long ago when I was on the vast ocean fishing. I was excited to go home after catching a huge fish to fill the hungry stomach of my own family. But when I was home, dead bodies from my loved ones met me inside. They said a rebellion came inside our house and they exchanged fire with the policemen.

image.png
unsplash

My heart was in deep sorrow because I couldn't believe what happened. Even though life was hard I still did my best to raise them. There's nothing I could do because it was an accident according to them. All I did was crying and crying until I was tired. I didn't close my eyes because I know if I close it would be the last I would see them. I wanted to let them stay beside me but it wasn't possible because they're already dead.

I cried every night. Their faces were still vivid in my thoughts. The way we used to have a beautiful conversation. The way we used to enjoy life. I couldn't accept it and as time flew by I decided to keep them in my sight. Even though they didn't exist in the eyes of other people, it does to me. Even though they didn't exist in the eyes of other people, it does to me. People may see me talking alone but in my mind, I'm not. They live in me, in my heart and mind.

"The sea feels amazing, right?" I said when I stayed at the shore alone.

"You don't want to go home, yet?"

It happened before when my child swam with my wife. I was just watching them while my children enjoyed the sea. I could not forget how happy my child was back then. I could see from the smile and the actions. It's like the time will be the last time. Actually, it was the last time I enjoyed watching them having so much fun.

image.png
unsplash

"Who was he talking to?"

"Maybe, he was just crazy."

Fishermen like me who are fishing near the shore. I could hear them talking at my back while smirking. But I'm used to it because I always heard them talking. I just ignored them because this is how I cope with myself to live. Without the memories I stored for sure I'll be gone for long. I don't care how people see me now. They never bothered to ask me anyway. They only said bad things so as long as this makes me happy. It's fine to be a crazy person in their eyes. They don't know what I'm thinking anyway.

END...

mrnightmare

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center