Ditch ~ Inkwell Prompt #108

pexels-photo-5717632.jpeg
Tima Miroshnichenko

Two strange things happened that day. Emilia, my boss's only child and daughter, had begun to flirt with me. She first asked me to join her during lunch at the company restaurant. I could not resist the invitation because I had no money to buy myself a meal during lunch. The job as a personal assistant to the director was my first job after two years since I lost my very first job, immediately after our wedding. As a new staff member, I would have to wait for three months to get my first salary, which is an accumulation of all allowances. But how I would sustain for those three months was a mirage. Emilia wore a gracious smile as I made my way to the table. Her heart must be beating fast at my good looks.

She ate like a royal while I munched hungrily. I couldn't hide the fact that I haven't had a good meal in the last two years. She suddenly broke the silence.

I like you.

With my eyes wide open, I could not believe my ears. Though she has the curves in the right places, that is not enough reason to flirt with her. Sally had been a good wife and friend to me through thick and thin. I dare not pay her back with infidelity. I seldomly replied to her.

Thank you.

After the food, we had a chat about our past life. The trials, joy, love and heartbreaks. As if that wasn't enough, Emilia planted a cool peck under my lips as we walked back to the office. She has the softest lips you can ever think of.

At the close of work that day, I went to her office because I was damn broke and needed some cash to keep my body and soul. I did not knock at the door before pushing through into the office.

Hey, Emilia. Aren't you set to leave? I thought I could join you so you drop me off.

Instantly, she started to clear her table.

Let's be on our way, baby.

In my mind, I thought of who she is calling her baby, not med the way as we entered the elevator to the ground floor. Soon, we were in the car and then on our way home. She drove with so much ease and stared at me all the way home. As a sharp guy, I avoided eye contact with her.

When we reached my bus stop, I beckoned her to park so I could alight but she wanted to know my place. For me, it's not advisable. Sally won't be happy. Emilia accepted but struck a deal to pick me up every morning to the office. Who am I to reject the offer, knowing that there is no means to get to work for the next three months?

Emilia stuck her hand into her purse and gave me some cash. I was so relieved. At least, I would be able to get some food items for Sally. Everything Seems to be falling into place, I thought.

The atmosphere when I alighted from the car seemed different. An air-conditioned car is quite an experience board.
It was a great night for us, Sally, and me as, we ate homemade food. I was at the dining table. I told Sally everything that transpired between Emilia and me.

Sally came up with the idea that I should play along so that we could get some more funds from Emilia. To me, it was the character of a gold digger. How could my wife begin to think like this? It made me worry because it is strange. We went to bed discussing how we could use Emilia's lustful attraction to siphon her some money.

On the next day, I had prepared to go to work, only putting on my tie properly and combing my hair when our doorbell rang.

Emilia, how did you find here?

She smiled at me and said:

I trailed you yesterday……..

My eyes popped open like it was a ghost I saw.

Come in.

I led her into our living room and rushed into the bedroom to tell Sally that we have a visitor. Sally reminded me that she would play the role of my house girl. There was no way I could argue with her now. We made our way to the living room where I introduced Sally as my house girl to Emilia.

Few minutes later, we went out to work. Other staff started seeing me as one who had the power to steal our madam's heart. I wasn't proud about that. It made me feel odd.

Emilia made matters worse. She started busting my place regularly and even spent the weekend with me.
One of those weekends, I went out to meet my friends, leaving Emilia and Sally, my dear wife at home. Not long after, Emilia asked Sally to go get some groceries at the mall. She had planned it all. As soon as the whole house was left to her, Emilia searched Sally's supposed room and found our wedding pictures and marriage certificate, hidden in the drawer by the bedside.
When I returned, I met Sally on her knees while Emilia was sweating profusely. She was shaking like one who is ready to fight. As I walked in, she stretched forth a document to me and asked what it meant. It was my wedding certificate to Sally. I could not utter a word.

Emilia found out that I was married after all, which led to my exit from the company and back to square one. There was no way I could have hidden that from Emilia, not for ever.

This was how the two strange events happened in my life, in just one day.

You can't eat your cake and have it.

It's too late, Emilia wont have me back in the company neither would she allow me back in her life.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now