Good Riddance

"Where is your sister? call her for me"
I already heard the sound of his car when he drove in and I had wondered why he was so early that morning. He was supposed to be in a meeting after all, it was his meeting day. I was already on my way out when my little sis met me on the way, "Daddy is calling you, and it looks like he's angry o", she half whispered the last part. In my head, I rolled my eyes and went outside to meet him.

My Mom had decided to bring everyone out that morning to the compound to uproot the weed growing here and there, she said we needed to learn the proper way of sweeping the floor with little grasses we could uproot with our hands. Annoying right? lol
And my dad had met everyone outside sweeping
" can you believe your daughter, she used a guy's picture as her WhatsApp dp" I heard him say to his wife. "Ehnnn ehnnn, she did that?" my mom said putting her hands on her waist. "when did she start that nonsense, when did she even started using phone" she backed up her husband and clapped her hands dramatically.

On my WhatsApp display picture was the picture of my secondary school classmate boyfriend. My classmate had introduced her boyfriend to me, and as the relationship coach that I was in secondary school, my mates introduced their partners to me, I help them draft love letters, apology letters and I even go as far as counseling them. But the truth was, I had never been in any relationship myself. My mantra was " Coaches don't play". The funny part was most of my classmate doesn't even see me as a lady, especially the guy.

The guy and I had a played a 21 questions game that was introduced by him and the loser would use the other person's picture as their display picture for 24hrs. I had no problem in using his picture as dp because I know my friend knows, I am the last person she can ever issues with concerning her boyfriend. Besides, my conscience was clean. I had nothing to hide. My subconscious mind had gone to my dad but I had thought he would be too busy to notice, besides the last thing he would do was checking my dp or even status as he was a very busy man. We played the game and I lose, I had to keep to the end of the bargain. Some hours later, my data got exhausted and there was no way I could recharge or subscribe.

I was out of secondary school but my parents would never see me as an adult even though I was 18 years old and I was already working as a teacher in a nearby primary school.
I know better than to try defend myself when it comes to my parents, I kept mute and allow them have all the words. It's not like my word is going to make any sense to either of them. And, as an African child, I know better not to interrupt them when they're talking. The only thing I kept praying for was that neither of them should slap me or hit me hence I kept taking a step backward whenever they seem to come closer. They can talk as much as they want. African parents and words are like 5&6.

At the end of the discussion, my dad ordered my phone be seized for a month and my mom seconded him in helping him keep the phone. The phone, kept in an open space was there for more than a month because I didn't request for it even after a month nor begged for it. I could live without phone and I didn't bother to apologize to either of them.
When the phone was later returned and I was able to get back online, I changed my dp on WhatsApp and block both my parents from seeing my status and even block them on Facebook. I needed that much space to myself and the last thing I needed was them after me again.


image source

Now, that's what I call a clean cut!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center