The House Dealer - Inkwell Fiction Prompt

pexels-photo-12975818.jpeg
Source

"I just got a call that there's another cheap buy for us. Get ready!" I said to my only assistant in my big real estate company.

We got ready and were on our way when my assistant kept telling me bad news about happenings in the area where the house was on sale. I knew exactly what to expect there, so it felt like he was being unreasonably scared once again. He always felt the same way about cheap houses in the area.

"Well, we'll have to find out when we get there..." I finally said something to stop him talking.

It was just as expected; the house was beautiful and had a lot of rooms, but then I saw a couple who obviously weren't human anymore. I asked the house seller and my assistant to leave me in the house alone for some time. I knew my assistant was always worried about me, but I always wished he wasn't because it was a duty I always had to carry out, even though he never understood.

I was alone in the house with the couple, who were standing quietly probably wondering why I dared to be alone in the house with them. Well, I couldn't care less. I brought out my ghost-control weapon, which I always carried along, and I tied them up. The weapon overpowered them when it was wielded at their legs. Grandma gave it to me as a gift before she died, and it helped me build a wealthy and less lonely life.

“Now tell me why you two ghosts are haunting this house.” I asked, looking straight at the couple, which obviously put them in shock as they never imagined anyone could actually see them.

"We can't let anyone take this house until the one who killed us pays for his sins’." The husband's ghost finally broke the couple's silence; he sat close to his wife with a look of powerlessness. I didn't bother asking how they were killed, as I had heard enough of such stories, but I decided to help them catch the bad guy and make them disappear safely from the human world.

The two ghosts didn't seem to believe what was happening, but somehow I got the building at a cheap price. I let the couple stay in the house until I was able to find the man they had pointed out as the killer. Even though I hated to deal with such scumbags, I got acquainted with their killer and succeeded in bringing him to the once haunted house.

On entering, he began to act like a madman who saw things others couldn’t. He kept screaming as he ran around the house, telling the couple that he was sorry and had been repenting. I couldn't see why he should be forgiven, but the couple smiled at me and disappeared while holding hands. I understood that they had gone to rest in peace.

Their killer got arrested a few days later for different crimes, including the death of a couple who had gone on a vacation to a beautiful house they’d recently bought. Another ghost wish was granted; another cheap but previously, super expensive house was secured...

That’s the story of my weird life as a house dealer

20230102_181802_0000.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center