Rose-red

picture is mine

Growing up, I watched a lot of Vin Diesel and Jason Statham movies. Especially the one where they drive flashy sports cars doing incredible Stunts. My love for them made me fall in love with sports cars.

The expansive roar of the engine, the fun that comes from switching to different gears in split seconds, and the sleek and stylish looks to the eyes were the tiny details that gave me that adrenaline rush.

To me, it was more than just a car; it was freedom in plain eight. It felt so good and so satisfying.

My love for fast cars made me learn how to save from an early age. I skipped a whole lot of fun activities with friends and ignored buying the latest gadgets. The only gadget I wanted in my life was a sports car parked in my garage.

It was like a crush, that beautiful rose you wished to pluck. The tiny butterflies in your belly.

I craved it. I dreamt of it every night.

I can't forget how I walked into the car dealership with my shoulders proud and my head held high. And there it was, like a wife waiting for me to take her home. Its rose-red paint sparkled under the showroom light. Its shiny interior smelled of new leather and luxury.

"So, which do you have in mind?" I was drawn back to reality by the voice of the salesman. And without thinking twice I pointed at it.

"That one. That's my baby" I felt goosebumps all over my skin at that word.

A few minutes later, I was seated inside my new sports car, roaring its engine to life. Hands gripping tight in the steering. Finger switching on the turbo mode, ready for the adventure of the road.

Tyres screeching, I sped out of the dealership into the open road. Covering distances in a short while, the rush of the morning breeze to my face and the stares from the people on the walkways. I could swear I was having an orgasm.

And that was the same way the first week went for me. Crazy spins and drives with my friends. Showing it off at places where people will see and admire. I was proud of myself.

Little did I know that my beautiful rose- red machine had its thorns.

First, it was how it sucked at my pockets with the way it guzzled fuel, like a beast always thirsty after a busy day. Living off the little cash I made from my painting jobs.

I managed to survive its first few months till it was time for its first service, an oil change. I had driven it to the workshop happy and feeling like a king amongst others. But when the bill came I had no words to describe the expression on my face.

I guess the mechanic noticed as he patted my back and said
"The bigger the beast, the higher the cost"

I gave a fake smile "Just realised that". I said and stared at my car. I knew at that moment that my relationship with my cars was coming to an end.

I couldn't afford to be spending so much on a liability when I had fewer assets. I knew it was time I made a decision that might hurt me, a decision that put me in the group of those who live within their means. Holding onto the sports car and pretending like it wasn't draining me financially meant I was lying to myself.

I paid the mechanic and drove my car home.

The next day, I drove straight to the dealership where I had bought the car. My heart was heavy, my eyes teary. The roar of the engine barely gave me joy anymore. But as I drove closer to the dealership I consoled myself with the fact that I was doing what was best for myself.

I got into the car lot and took one last look at my car. It felt like I was breaking up with a better part of me. Then I walked reluctantly to the showroom.

"Back so soon," the salesman said as he sighted me. It felt like he was waiting for me.

"You knew I would be back?" I asked.

"Just a hunch," he said with a smile.

"Why?" I asked, curious to know.

"You don't save to own liabilities when you barely own assets. Remember you told me how you have to starve just to save? People that own these don't starve for it"

I stood there looking at him. "So why didn't you stop me?" I asked. If he knew all that, he could have stopped me from making that decision.

"Well, I wouldn't have succeeded even if I tried. The fire was raging in your eyes. Besides, I had to make sales" he said again with a friendly smile.

I turned and looked at my car again. "It's draining me, man." I paused. "What's it up for," I asked.

"Deprecation and all that. And after a thorough assessment check, You'll get less for it"

I didn't argue. I knew it was the normal way. I just shrugged my shoulders and asked "Where do I sign?'

A few hours later, I stepped out of the dealership and headed straight to the bus stop without the one thing that once made my blood rush. I tried my best not to take a final glance at it. I needed to let go to move forward. And no I didn't have regrets for each decision I made. It's always said that life's short, so we better live it doing what we love.

It was a simple but short love affair. I fell in love with a rose-red sports car, bought it, had a bro-mace with it and parted ways.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center