He named me Devolo.


fantasy-2945514_1920.jpg
Image from Pixabay

Devolo sat on his bed, staring at the ceiling as he tried to make sense of the strange dream he had been having every night for the past week. In it, a mysterious monk appeared to him, inviting him to visit the upper world, a place that seemed to be beyond the clouds.

The monk promised Devolo that he could fly there, soaring through the air with the greatest of ease. But Devolo had never been able to fly in real life, and he couldn't understand why this dream kept returning to him night after night.

As he lay there, trying to figure out what it all meant, the monk appeared once again, standing at the foot of his bed.

"Come with me, Devolo," the monk said, his voice soft and soothing. "I will teach you how to fly."

Devolo hesitated for a moment, still unsure if this was all just a dream. But something about the monk's words and the way he looked at him made Devolo feel like he could trust him. So he got out of bed and followed the monk out of his room.

The two of them walked out into the open air, where the monk began to demonstrate different techniques for controlling the body in flight. Devolo watched intently, trying to absorb as much as he could.

"Now, try it yourself," the monk said, standing back to give Devolo some space.

Devolo tentatively spread his arms out to the side, trying to mimic the movements he had just seen. To his surprise, he felt himself lifting off the ground, his feet leaving the ground behind.

"That's it, Devolo," the monk said, a smile spreading across his face. "You're doing it. You're flying!"

Devolo couldn't believe it. He was actually flying! He couldn't contain his excitement as he soared through the air, feeling the wind rushing past him and the freedom of flight coursing through his veins.

As they flew together, the mysterious monk continued to teach Devolo new techniques and tricks, helping him to hone his skills and become a master of the upper world. And Devolo knew that he would never forget this incredible journey, or the mysterious monk who had helped him discover the magic of flight.

"Mom, you won't believe what happened in my dream last night," Devolo said excitedly as he sat down at the breakfast table. "I was flying with this mysterious monk, and he was teaching me all these amazing tricks and techniques!"

His mom looked up from her newspaper, a curious expression on her face. "That sounds like quite an adventure, Devolo. What was the monk like?"

"Well, he was really kind and wise," Devolo replied, his eyes shining with excitement. "I don't know how to explain it, but I just felt like I could trust him. And the upper world he took me to was incredible! I've never seen anything like it before."

His mom smiled and reached out to pat his hand. "I think I might have an idea what you're talking about, Devolo. You see, I had a very similar dream when I was pregnant with you, about eighteen years ago."

Devolo's eyes widened in surprise. "You did? What was your dream about?"

"It was about a mysterious monk, too," his mom said, her eyes taking on a faraway look as she remembered. "He appeared to me in my dreams 26 times over the course of the nine months I was pregnant with you. And each time, he told me to name my child Devolo."

"That's amazing," Devolo said, his mind racing with the implications. "Do you think the monk in my dream and the monk in your dream are the same person?"

"I don't know, Devolo," his mom said, shaking her head. "But I do believe that dreams can be powerful and meaningful, and that they can sometimes reveal things to us that we might not otherwise be able to see. Maybe the monk in your dream is trying to tell you something, or maybe he's just there to guide and inspire you."

"I think you're right, Mom," Devolo said, feeling a sense of peace and understanding wash over him. "I'll have to pay more attention to my dreams from now on, and see what they have to teach me."

"I think that's a good idea, Devolo," his mom said, smiling at him. "And who knows? Maybe one day you'll be able to visit the upper world for real, just like you did in your dream."

Devolo's mom woke up panting, her heart racing as the dream faded from her mind. She couldn't believe what she had just seen. It had been eighteen years since she had last dreamed of the mysterious monk, and now he was back, along with Devolo, who was smiling at her with a look of pure joy on his face.

The monk had spoken to her, telling her how happy he was that Devolo had grown up to be the best boy he could have ever wished for. He said it was time for Devolo to be with his father and to be a part of the upper world, where he could enjoy all the things that truly had value.

Devolo's mom sat up in bed, still trying to process what had just happened. It had felt so real, like a message from another world. She couldn't shake the feeling that something important was happening, and she had to find out what it was.

So she got out of bed and rushed to Devolo's room, determined to find her son and make sure he was okay. But when she arrived, she found that Devolo was nowhere to be found. All that was left in his bed was a note and a pair of boots.

The note read: "Mom, don't worry. I'm just going to fly so high, just like my name implies. I'll be back soon. Love, Devolo."

Devolo's mom felt a sense of panic wash over her. What did this all mean? Where had Devolo gone, and why had he left this note behind? She had so many questions, but no answers. All she could do was hope and pray that her son was safe, and that he would return to her soon.

But despite her fears, Devolo's mom knew that she had to let her son go and follow his own path, just as the mysterious monk had told her. And so, with a heavy heart, she sat down on Devolo's bed and waited for him to return, knowing that wherever he was, he was following his dreams and discovering all the beauty and wonder that the upper world had to offer.


I couldn't make a fitting title for this prompt but anyway, thank you for reading my entry for The Ink Well Prompt #97.

Happily Yours,
Sammy.

image.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
8 Comments