Harper's Garden: A Journey Through Time and Magic

I woke with a start, my roommate was lost in the embrace of sleep and it was dark out I was always the first to wake up and it gave me more time to think about how to go about my daily routine which made it seem like a time loop; unending and infinite. The room was slightly clustered with clothes littering the floor, I could perceive a faint smell of morning dew as droplets of water caused a melody as they dripped to the floor, I got up to wash my face as I contemplated the day ahead. I had one roommate, but he was like a ghost I see him once as I wake and in the night preparing for sleep. Every day, some cleaners come up to clean the apartment where we live in college, but the neatness of individual rooms is left to their residents.
The next ritual in my daily routine beckoned as I proceeded to take a shower, so I lifted myself from my bed and unsteadily approached the bathroom located in the extremities of the room. I was still a bit groggy as I still felt a bit sleepy, after a quick shower I put on my clothes which were noticeably tight and were a reflection of the economic constraints that dictated my wardrobe, and I sighed.
as I strolled through the dormitory, I took in the distinct scent of the boys, I realized today had a subtle yet undeniable difference in the air. On an average day, I would set about my day going through a repetitive cycle of attending classes, eating lunch at cafes, and winding down at nightfall. But today was different, as I stepped out of the doors it felt like I stepped into a new world.
I had a sudden wash of deja vu as if I had experienced this before, therefore triggering memories from back when I was nine. During that fantastic vision, I explored a breathtaking garden filled with beautiful flowers and creatures, it was a sanctuary untouched by human hands, an escape from my greatest enemy: Boredom. As I walked through the narrow door, a wonderful sensation enveloped me, transporting me back to my nine-year-old self. I was met by a little bunny with pink fur and dark eyes initially displaying alarm at my presence, but relaxing after gaining a sense of recognition. I felt like I recognized it and so did it, and then it clicked in my memory; it was the bunny that appeared in my dream when I was nine, I think I called it cottonberry.
"Hi Cottonberry," I said curiosity lingering in my voice if it could understand me. "hello harper, remember me," Cottonberry said, and in an instant, a flood of memories rushed into my mind as I started to recall previously forgotten images of the enchanting garden and the magical creatures which inhabited it began to resurface.
When I was nine on a sunny day, the thrill of exploration led me to venture through our attic located at the top of our duplex. As I roamed through the attic, I came across an old rusty door seemingly misplaced in a place where no room should logically exist. upon stepping through the door I found myself standing in the enchanted garden, where I first met Cottonberry. The Garden spanning a modest 800 square foot revealed its charm with a cottage at the heart of this sanctuary. Guided by the whimsy of childish curiosity I proceeded to enter the cottage uninvited, there I came across the other residents of the garden; A forest Gnome by the name Thistlewhisk, Lumina the fairy, zephyr the forest sprite and the guardian of the garden a druid called Thandlith.
jeff-finley-bK8Wlaq7NaA-unsplash.jpgsource

They all worked together to maintain the beauty and safety of the Garden, Cottonberry introduced me as a traveler who lost his way, promoting an immediate sense of camaraderie among us. They hosted a party for me as they didn't get many visitors, it was very heartwarming as we sang, danced, and reveled in sheer joy. During the merriment, the magical beings spoke of the history of their garden. They spoke of it as a fragmented space, cut off from the time and space. The magical beings, with sadness, told me that it was time for me to go. They explained that the enchantments made it so that the garden was safe and made it impossible for anyone other than themselves to stay for more than a day within the confines of the garden. Grateful for the magical experience and newfound friendships, I bid farewell.
I woke up in my room thinking it was all a dream but now I met with Cottonberry again and he was trying to tell me that something. "what happened?"I questioned, Cottonberry pointed towards the cottage and said
meritt-thomas-zqIOvV-D3JQ-unsplash.jpgsource

"Thandlith is sick and none of us know what to do ". I told him to take me there so that I could see what I could do about it. I came to meet Thandlith groaning on the bed. I once read about a potion that could cure all diseases but the ingredients consisted of rare herbs and elixirs. I asked them to help me get the herbs for the potion, to cut the long story short. They got the herbs, I created the potion and he got cured.
They thanked me and politely bid me farewell because of the condition of the garden. This ends my short fairytale.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now