Eternal Avarice

i.pngImage source
I used to be the richest creature alive but I hated my limited lifespan so I craved one thing only that was Immortality.
This universe was filled with magic and everything had the tendency to gain sentience, which brought about the need for the Government which regulated magic users, as a form of authority. They were headed by the Witches, the most powerful magic creatures in the universe. To begin my story, my name is Petrovna and I used to be a richest creature: a kitsune by birth but then one day 20 years ago I shape shifted to a human. My goal for existence is to be immortal. My adopted parents found me during the initial stages of my development and decided to take me home They were called Elysium. They were a rich family who engaged in magical research. They ran a multi-planetary company that dealt with innovation and the development of new magical items as well as information on the source of magic. They died a few years ago leaving me the bulk of their assets .
Back to the present, you see ever since I was born I've had one goal in mind; To attain immortality, in this age of magic. Immortality is not an impossible dream and I am sure my parents would have been willing to support me every step of the way.
So I set out on my journey where do you go to attain immortality? A shaman's shop, brilliant!
Image source
I said to myself. I searched around for all the most famous shops in the vicinity and I came across a shady-looking one that boasted to possess infinite knowledge more like what
I could afford it. Then I set off towards Salt Lake, the location of the shop which was named Marcus' shop. In this era, there are multiple outlets for magical power, some of which include; Mythical creatures possessing powers from birth which were called the witches, there were also Shamans which were humans able to use magical powers. Though the world had some sort of technology, people with magic were highly respected.
As I got to salt-lake I entered the shaman's shop, and I met with a middle-aged man who invited me warmly. "Welcome, I have been expecting you for a long while" he said as he guided me towards a seat, "For real?" I replied, "I knew this place was legitimate" I thought in my heart "your name is Petrovna and you have come here seeking the secret to immortality" Marcus said, "how did you know, have we met before?" I inquired. "There is nothing I don't know after all I got my knowledge from the source of the Universe " Marcus said as he stepped towards the table where I sat, " so you mean to say there is a way for me to achieve immortality?", "of course, There is nothing in this world that can't be achieved as long as you pay the right price" Marcus said and suddenly the room dimmed as an ominous light lit up the room "What's happening" I asked, "nothing much I just forgot to pay my bills and I only have a Laminar candle to light up the room" Marcus replied as he opened a drawer to bring out a glow stick with pale lightning. "Pardon me for the intrusion but with all your knowledge why do you still live in a run down shack and are unable to pay your bills? after all you should have enough knowledge to give the Government for them to provide you with an unlimited amount of wealth" I questioned Marcus while I looked around. "Well it is because I have this knowledge that I choose to remain poor, only I know the consequences it would unleash on the world if it gets out.
I believe you came here to ask for the path to immortality right? Well all you have to do is to follow this map and reach the place marked on it, there you will meet a Gargoyle who will give you a riddle if you can answer the riddle you will be granted one wish which has no limit" Marcus explained as he handed me a digital map of the cosmos "it seems to easy if that were the case shouldn't everyone be immortal" I pondered aloud. " There is a consequence to not answering the riddle correctly, you will be petrified or so the story goes" Marcus said, "so were you able to answer the riddle correctly" I asked Marcus slowly. "Of course or do you doubt me?" "Okay, I will tell you things about yourself, ready?", "Okay" I shrugged." you were a kitsune which gained sentience after 3000 years of existence at the moment of your birth your first thought was to ensure you enjoyed a long, rather infinite lifespan. This brought about your desire to attain immortality, your parents were magical researchers who had no children they saw you and decided to adopt you..", "that is enough, you have proven your point, thanks for the information I heard your payment is 20 pounds of gold, here it is" I said as I laid the gold pouch on the table." I advise you to go with a partner because the path to your journey is filled with danger", "thanks for the advice" I said as I left.
I set out on my journey a few days later, the first destination on the map was Elodia which was the home of the mages. Mages were shamans which had attained a high degree of proficiency in the magical arts, they were elusive and few in number. I happened to come across a mage with great knowledge and asked him where to find the heart of the essence of the and he gave me a skeptical ๐Ÿคจ look as if looking at an idiot then he proceeded to ignore me and went on his way. I later got information that the essence of the universe was an elusive place only spoken of in legends.
After walking around for days I came across an old woman with a hunched back, "I heard you are looking for the essence of the universe ๐ŸŒŒ" she said, "yes" I replied doubtful of the veracity of the information she was about to provide. "The only way to get there is to go to the timeless mountain when the universe aligns, coincidentally the next alignment is tomorrow night" she explained "thank you very much" I said, "but be careful what you wish for because you might just get it" she advised.
The next day I headed out until I came across the mountain, it had a hazy feel about it. As I entered I came across the gargoyle at the entrance of a building resembling that of a black hole ๐Ÿ•ณ It explained to me that the universe in itself is a living entity just in a state of rest and that all my wishes would be granted provided I was willing to pay a certain price I agreed without hesitation. So it recited the riddle that had been passed down since the dawn of time and it goes thus:
Solid and steadfast, I never flee,
In rivers and deserts, I might be;
Ancient and silent, with stories untold,
Weathered and worn, yet I hold my mold.
I thought about this for days without a care for the passage of time. But then I got it, the answer was a rock. "correct" the gargoyle said "so what do you wish for" he asked, the moment had come I would now get the one thing I always wanted immortality, "I wish to be immortal" I said boldly, then I lost consciousness not before I heard the Gargoyle saying to the old woman " there goes another one damned because of his wishes" then everything faded away.
when next I came to be I was immobile more like sessile and heavy then I discovered I was transformed into a rock. So as it turns out , the old woman was an impersonation of the sleeping universe and she guided people to have their wishes granted. "All this happened because of my greed" I thought.
Others came to fulfill their selfish needs, as I bear witness to it all, well to this day we still remain as a warning to those whose desire has blinded their clarity in life.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now