My Daydream (The Ink Well Creative Non-Fiction)

Non-Fiction Prompt Link

Prompt Theme: Daydreaming

Hello, everyone. This week I decided to give the new creative non-fiction idea a try. This prompt caught my attention because I am a daydreamer. I think daydreaming can help you know what you want in life and strengthens the imagination.

Lately, we've gotten into the routine of watching an episode of Downton Abbey before bed every night. Watching this show makes the idea of having a chauffeur very appealing to me, especially since I'm a terrible driver. I also daydream of living in the mountains, but traveling to various cities with Gabby. All the while, Gabby is on her best behavior and our driver takes us to the airport while providing me with peace of mind. Check out my daydream below ⬇️


"Where's my blue shirt?" I say to myself, sifting through the warm clothes in the dryer. I manually turn the drum, tossing clothes aside. "I thought I washed it?" I look over and see the blue shirt in the hamper, so I pick out a different shirt. "I wonder if it'll be cold on the plane?" I keep talking to myself as I hold up a sweatshirt. It's early in the morning, and the heat from the dryer makes me imagine curling up in my first class seat. (Yes, that's me daydreaming within a daydream).

"Hey Lovebug, make sure you bring a sweatshirt with you on the plane," I say loudly toward the other room.

Gabby walks out hoisting her carry-on bag. "I don't think I have any room. But I think they have blankets on there."

"Okay." I nod in agreement while staring at the bag. My tone goes from contemplative to stern. "And your binder and notebook are in there?"

She lets out an exasperated sigh. "Yes," she says with an eye roll.

"Trust me, it's a long flight. Just get it all done on the plane. Then you can really enjoy yourself and won't have to worry about homework for the rest of the trip." She's already heard this lecture, but I feel the need to reemphasize my work before play mentality.

Gabby looks out the window toward the end of the driveway. It's still somewhat dark outside and she can see headlights. "Preston's here," she says in a dull tone. This causes me to scurry around the house tending to last-minute duties. She cranes her neck toward the driveway. "I don't think he can get in. Did you dig out the gates?" The iron gates to our driveway get stuck in the snow.

"Yes, I -- " My cell phone pings, and I know it's Preston. I begin to doubt the good job I thought I did with the snow blower. It must be the ice that hardened overnight. I walk out to the detached garage to grab a shovel.


"So... La Guardia?" Preston double checks where we're headed, as his hand reaches up to adjust his GPS.

"Yes, Terminal B," I say with enthusiasm, because this means we're off to Japan.

"Are you going to go to the arcade this time, Gabby?" Preston makes polite small talk.

"Yes," she answers, smiling, looking up from her Kindle.

I scroll through my phone as Preston maneuvers smoothly onward through the winding roads, surrounded by grey birch trees and tall Pinch Pines. A gap in the trees exposes a stunning view of the Adirondacks in the distance. I think about how I live for these tiny moments. I'm filled with excitement as I imagine the New York skyline while heading toward La Guardia, and the view of Tokyo from our landing plane. How years of work and hardship has paid for these tiny fleeting moments of exuberance.

I take a sip of coffee from my travel mug, then sit up sharply as I remember something. I turn to Gabby. "Did I leave the stove on?" She just looks at me with wide eyes.

"It' okay. I have the key and can make sure it's off when I get back." Preston reassures me.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center